Default Filter list?

Everything about using Adblock Plus on Mozilla Firefox, Thunderbird and SeaMonkey

Default Filter list?

Postby guest » Sun Jan 27, 2013 1:09 am

Alright, so I've found via other topics and looking through about:config that one of the default subscription lists lives at https://adblockplus.org/subscriptions2.xml, but that only seems to be the list for [Add filter subscription] -> [Add a different subscription]. Is there a way I can manipulate the dropdown list's locations in the extension's code somewhere? I'm interested in using it as a temporary work around for not being able to use multiple filter subscriptions in Firefox Mobile. (Basically, take all the filter lists you want, put them in one text file, and run it through this site's duplicate checker - then use an edited locations file to point toward your custom filter file.)
guest
 

Re: Default Filter list?

Postby Crits » Sun Jan 27, 2013 2:24 am

I'm not sure, but you could try that:
Starting subscriptions are hardcoded in ABP for Firefox. So try to modify the subscription.xml file in ABP source code by replacing the URL of the default subscription you would normally get (ex: Liste FR+EasyList if you are French - if you are English, you have to modify the URLs of both EasyList and Fanboy's list) by the custom one you want.

Then build your new version of ABP: https://adblockplus.org/en/source#build
Hope it works.
Author of Liste FR, an ad-blocking subscription for French websites
User avatar
Crits
 
Posts: 394
Joined: Mon Jan 16, 2012 12:54 pm
Location: France

Re: Default Filter list?

Postby guest » Sun Jan 27, 2013 9:29 pm

Adding in my custom filter location seemed to work, but I'm having a different problem that persists even in the standard installation of ABP on Firefox Mobile - it starts automatically using Fanboy's List, but...

- The filter list takes a long time to load, and sometimes it doesn't load at all. If I tap somewhere away from the filter list area, or the back button, the filter window attempts to load again.

- If I'm somehow able to pick a different filter list, back out of the extension options window, and go back, the selection returns to Fanboy's List.

I'll try the latest development build to see if it makes any difference.
guest
 

Re: Default Filter list?

Postby guest » Sun Jan 27, 2013 9:45 pm

No change, and it's still Fanboy's List in [profile]/adbblockplus/patterns.ini. It's also already posted as a bug in the bugs forum, so I'll add my device information there.
guest
 

Re: Default Filter list?

Postby Crits » Sun Jan 27, 2013 10:31 pm

Or, simpler:
In patterns.ini file, search for [Subscription]. Under some of those headers there should be a line with url=. Try to change that URL with your custom one.

You also might want to change the lines lastDownload=, lastSuccess=, lastCheck= by cropping a few million seconds out of them (I think they represent the number of seconds since 1st January, 1970), this way your filter list will automatically update almost as soon as you open Firefox again.

After you did that, avoid displaying the list of the existing subscriptions in ABP settings, I guess it might reset your custom subscription URL.
Author of Liste FR, an ad-blocking subscription for French websites
User avatar
Crits
 
Posts: 394
Joined: Mon Jan 16, 2012 12:54 pm
Location: France

Re: Default Filter list?

Postby guest » Mon Jan 28, 2013 12:28 am

Still having trouble, but a couple interesting things I've found:
- You can't really just 'cat' two filter files together and host them somewhere, otherwise you get a checksum mismatch when you try to update... until you remove the "!checksum=" lines.
- I've found someone else's filter (Fanboy's Ultimate) that does what I want, but I can't seem to get ABP to force update on FF Mobile from your last[Variable] editing.
- extensions.adblockplus.synchronizationinterval doesn't even seem to exist on a FF Mobile install of ABP. Not sure if manually adding it in will do much.

For now I think I'm just going to try making a patterns.ini file on a new profile in FF Desktop, and see how that works out. Thank you for your suggestions and help!
guest
 

Re: Default Filter list?

Postby Crits » Mon Jan 28, 2013 12:45 am

For now I think I'm just going to try making a patterns.ini file on a new profile in FF Desktop, and see how that works out. Thank you for your suggestions and help!

Copying a patterns.ini file from your computer onto your Android device might also be a good and simple idea.
- extensions.adblockplus.synchronizationinterval doesn't even seem to exist on a FF Mobile install of ABP. Not sure if manually adding it in will do much.

That's not how update frequency works: http://adblockplus.org/en/faq_internal# ... ion_update
Author of Liste FR, an ad-blocking subscription for French websites
User avatar
Crits
 
Posts: 394
Joined: Mon Jan 16, 2012 12:54 pm
Location: France


Return to Adblock Plus for Firefox support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Antoniozsh, Google [Bot] and 14 guests