64-bit firefox and adblock plus

Everything about using Adblock Plus on Mozilla Firefox, Thunderbird and SeaMonkey

64-bit firefox and adblock plus

Postby oji-sama » Thu May 14, 2009 9:29 pm

Is this a valid combination? Does the normal version work, or does a 64-bit version exist?

From http://wiki.mozilla-x86-64.com/Firefox:Plugins :

"Firefox x64 version has to use 64-bit plug-in. Even if you install 32-bit plug-in, it cannot use it on 64-bit version."

I was going to try the 64-bit build, but I'm incapable of using WWW-pages without adblock...
oji-sama
 

Postby Adblock Plus Fan » Thu May 14, 2009 9:45 pm

Keep in mind the program you link to isn't the official Mozilla Firefox browser.

I suppose you could try to install ABP, if it refuses to install because it's not been marked as compatible then this browser isn't supported.
User avatar
Adblock Plus Fan
 
Posts: 1255
Joined: Sat Feb 24, 2007 12:08 pm

Re: 64-bit firefox and adblock plus

Postby Ares2 » Thu May 14, 2009 10:55 pm

oji-sama wrote:Is this a valid combination? Does the normal version work

It should work just fine.

oji-sama wrote:From http://wiki.mozilla-x86-64.com/Firefox:Plugins :

"Firefox x64 version has to use 64-bit plug-in. Even if you install 32-bit plug-in, it cannot use it on 64-bit version."

Note that plugins (Flash, Media Player, ...) are not the same as extensions (Adblock Plus, Stylish, ...).
Ares2
 
Posts: 1275
Joined: Fri Feb 15, 2008 1:47 pm

Postby Wladimir Palant » Fri May 15, 2009 8:13 am

Adblock Plus is platform-independent, it will work with any Firefox. However, as Fan already noted - this isn't the official Firefox and might not always work correctly.
Wladimir Palant
ABP Developer
 
Posts: 8332
Joined: Fri Jun 09, 2006 6:59 pm
Location: Cologne, Germany

Re: 64-bit firefox and adblock plus

Postby bur » Fri Nov 12, 2010 11:42 am

Since there is now an official (though nightly) win-64 build of Firefox, I dug up this thread.

Note that plugins (Flash, Media Player, ...) are not the same as extensions (Adblock Plus, Stylish, ...).
So all Add-Ons/extensions like Adblock, Noscript and so on that work with 32-bit Firefox should work with the 64-bit build as well?

That'd be a nice thing. Has anyone here tried it yet? Of my plugins Java and Flash are available in 64 bit, Quicktime seems not to be (not the most important plugin anyway) but unfortunately also the Adobe Reader plugin seems to only exist in 32bit.
bur
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Oct 18, 2010 6:06 pm

Re: 64-bit firefox and adblock plus

Postby Hubird » Fri Nov 12, 2010 12:09 pm

I used ABP in Minefield x64 just fine. There are other Free native 64bit PDF readers.

You could try:

http://www.tracker-software.com/product ... nge-viewer
User avatar
Hubird
 
Posts: 2844
Joined: Thu Oct 26, 2006 2:59 pm
Location: Australia

Re: 64-bit firefox and adblock plus

Postby Sniper » Sun Aug 07, 2011 11:17 pm

Well, what is the direct answer guys? Is AdBlockPlus architecture independent, or there is a separate x64 build? Could we use it directly on FF x64, or we have to do some tricky workarounds in order to succeed? I thing that peoples are awaiting por a prompt, direct, obiective answer much more than many philosophical discussions on the topic. Thanks, Sniper.
Sniper
 

Re: 64-bit firefox and adblock plus

Postby Zlip792 » Mon Aug 08, 2011 11:12 am

Sniper wrote:Well, what is the direct answer guys? Is AdBlockPlus architecture independent, or there is a separate x64 build? Could we use it directly on FF x64, or we have to do some tricky workarounds in order to succeed? I thing that peoples are awaiting por a prompt, direct, obiective answer much more than many philosophical discussions on the topic. Thanks, Sniper.

Adblock Plus is an extension not a plugin. So it does not matter matter whether firefox is 32 bit or 64 bit, it will work.
Yes, you can use it on Firefox 64 bit without any issues.
Zlip792
 
Posts: 78
Joined: Fri Jul 15, 2011 10:03 am
Location: Pakistan

Re: 64-bit firefox and adblock plus

Postby lewisje » Wed Aug 17, 2011 2:06 pm

Sniper wrote:Well, what is the direct answer guys? Is AdBlockPlus architecture independent, or there is a separate x64 build? Could we use it directly on FF x64, or we have to do some tricky workarounds in order to succeed? I thing that peoples are awaiting por a prompt, direct, obiective answer much more than many philosophical discussions on the topic. Thanks, Sniper.
Heaven forbid people actually read the forum :roll:

Anyway I'll be pissed off if Firefox Aurora doesn't get Windows x64 builds once its version number is bumped to 8 (any day now, since Mozilla released Firefox 6, so Beta should move to 7 and Aurora to 8), just as the current Firefox Nightly 8 is (and the new Nightly 9 should be) available for x64; Java has been 64-bit for nearly 2 years, Flash is coming aboard with the beta of version 11, and even a couple PDF readers are available (PDF-Xchange is, and with a simple patch, the lighter Sumatra PDF plugin can be compiled for x64).

For a bit more "philosophical" :roll: discussion, consider that Adblock Plus actually contains no compiled code, just Javascript (and also HTML, CSS, and images in the user interface), so it works wherever Firefox does (same for the Chrome extension and Chromium); by contrast, some extensions actually bundle plugins inside and are not cross-platform, like the numerous "IE Tab" extensions for both Firefox and Chrome, which use a plugin that embeds the WebBrowser control in such a way that it only works on 32-bit Windows builds (usually Win2K and higher, although the original IE Tab once supported Windows 98). It would be impossible to even port that extension outside Windows, because Internet Explorer does not run on those platforms without emulation or compatibility layers, while 64-bit applications on Windows x64 would require a distinct build (which I hope is provided as Firefox x64 comes out from the Nightly ghetto).
lewisje
 
Posts: 1401
Joined: Mon Jun 14, 2010 12:07 pm


Return to Adblock Plus for Firefox

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests