Sponsored Ads on yahoo.com newsfeed revisit

Everything about using Adblock Plus on Mozilla Firefox, Thunderbird and SeaMonkey
OldGuyInDenver

Sponsored Ads on yahoo.com newsfeed revisit

Post by OldGuyInDenver »

Hello,
No flames please just a total newbie to ADP. Newbie in the sense of needing some help.

On this site, https://www.yahoo.com/, and from the screenshot I have: https://imgur.com/GGyt4vH

The 2nd article is a Sponsored ad. I have the latest ADP with ADP warning list, Easylist and Fanboylist enabled.

Is there a new list that will do this? Or is there something I can do to customize one of the above subscriptions? I am ok with opening the Object Inspector and looking at the HTML code. Just don't know what to add.

If there are some tutorials on this, please add them to your reply.

Thanks
mapx

Re: Sponsored Ads on yahoo.com newsfeed revisit

Post by mapx »

I can't reproduce the ad on the main page, however I found sponsor article on some article page
add

Code: Select all

yahoo.com##[data-ad-feedback-beacon*="beap.bc.yahoo.com"]
OldGuyInDenver

Post by OldGuyInDenver »

Please pardon my ignorance, but were do I add this code in ADP?

And if you go to yahoo.com and look in the news feed itself, you see no articles in the feed that at the top of the article with the word Sponsored and an icon like a dollarsign in a sunburst like my imgur pic?

That is what I am looking to get rid of.

Sorry for being thick.
mapx

Post by mapx »

yes, I got such a sponsored stuff but only when I read / enter some article, not on the main page like you.

how to add custom filters:
forum/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=42013
OldGuyInDenver

Post by OldGuyInDenver »

Ok so I added the code and it does not work.

And we are not on the same page as you are not seeing what I am. Thanks for pointing me to the right way to add code as a custom filter.

Should I look at the code for the actual Sponsored ad?
mapx

Post by mapx »