Adblock does not remember filters, does not let me restore

Everything about using Adblock Plus on Mozilla Firefox, Thunderbird and SeaMonkey

Adblock does not remember filters, does not let me restore

Postby udo » Sun May 28, 2017 10:11 am

Firefox latest on Fedora 24 x86_64: firefox-53.0.2-5.fc24.x86_64
Adblock plus 2.9.

Suddenly I see an advert on youtube.
I try to report an issue.
Then Adblock mentions there are no filter rules.
So I add a few, make a backup (~/filters).
I shut down FF after a while.
I start it up again.
I check the filters: gone.
I try to restore the backup.
Due to a non added extension to ~/filters the file is not recognised.
Renaming it to filters.txt does allow recognition as a custom filter but the file is not accepted.

So I guess I need help to find the root causes of these issues.
Why does FF forhget the filters?
Why can't I restore the filters?
Is this related to FF changing?
udo
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun May 28, 2017 10:07 am

Re: Adblock does not remember filters, does not let me restore

Postby udo » Sun May 28, 2017 2:29 pm

Found that the extension expected is .ini.
So why does adblock not show this?
Why does adblock pro not add this on making a backup?
Shut down FF.
Started it again.
Filter rules gone!
What type of product is this? Was it ever tested?
This was never an issue before.
So why now?
udo
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun May 28, 2017 10:07 am

Re: Adblock does not remember filters, does not let me restore

Postby udo » Mon May 29, 2017 4:49 am

Due to this bug I have to restore the filters each time I start up FF.
We choose to restore, select the file and click OK.
Then comes another question asking if it is OK to proceed.
Why then did I select a file to restore from?
udo
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun May 28, 2017 10:07 am

Re: Adblock does not remember filters, does not let me restore

Postby mapx » Mon May 29, 2017 1:13 pm

User avatar
mapx
 
Posts: 21945
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2011 3:01 pm

Re: Adblock does not remember filters, does not let me restore

Postby udo » Mon May 29, 2017 3:30 pm

When restoring an ini file and closing the dialog after selecting a file, the filters do not get imported.
One has to WAIT for the useless dialog to indicate we really want to restore stuff.
Then it takes a few seconds and only then we can proceed.
udo
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun May 28, 2017 10:07 am

Re: Adblock does not remember filters, does not let me restore

Postby udo » Mon May 29, 2017 3:38 pm

udo
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun May 28, 2017 10:07 am

Re: Adblock does not remember filters, does not let me restore

Postby kma1623 » Sun Jun 25, 2017 1:51 pm

I use FF52.2.0 (32bit). For me, this problem started when I updated from 2.8.2 to 2.9.

Solved the problem by reinstalling 2.8.2.

Forgot about it until I updated to 2.9.1.

Same problem.

Solved the problem by reinstalling 2.8.2. Again.

Indeed, didn't even have to re-select the filters. They were there already as soon as I went back to the earlier version.

Could it be that 2.9 and after looks for the filters in the wrong place in the profile?
kma1623
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Jun 25, 2017 1:31 pm

Re: Adblock does not remember filters, does not let me restore

Postby jayjonbeach » Sun Jul 02, 2017 12:13 pm

Another thread of people with same issue: viewtopic.php?f=1&t=53075&start=0

I just keep restoring for now until there is hopefully a solution, other than going to older version
jayjonbeach
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Jun 19, 2017 5:24 pm

Re: Adblock does not remember filters, does not let me restore

Postby mapx » Sat Jul 08, 2017 5:49 pm

Did you try disabling all other addons ?
User avatar
mapx
 
Posts: 21945
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2011 3:01 pm


Return to Adblock Plus for Firefox support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Exabot [Bot], svetik0832 and 11 guests