[firefox bug] ABP disabled by Firefox

Everything about using Adblock Plus on Mozilla Firefox, Thunderbird and SeaMonkey
rms8
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun May 05, 2019 4:09 pm

Re: Adblock Plus Disabled on Firefox

Post by rms8 »

I (along w/many others) am on FF release 56.0.2 since that is the last release that allows me to continue to use some of my favorite add-ons. Anything newer will not allow me to use them and therefore I cannot customize the look and use of FF to my liking.

Add Block Plus will still uninstall itself each time I re-install my FF backup from March.

I found a way to keep ABP installed, but it reverts each time I restart close then open FF. To at least allow me to do this I had to do the following:


- Re-install my BU's (in Local and Remote directories)
- add new string via about:config and name it "devtools.chrome.enabled"
- I then had to open the BROWSER CONSOLE and run the following:
// For FF < v57 >...?
async function set_addons_as_signed() {
Components.utils.import("resource://gre/modules/addons/XPIProvider.jsm");
Components.utils.import("resource://gre/modules/AddonManager.jsm");
let XPIDatabase = this.XPIInternal.XPIDatabase;

let addons = await XPIDatabase.getAddonList(a => true);

for (let addon of addons) {
// The add-on might have vanished, we'll catch that on the next startup
if (!addon._sourceBundle.exists())
continue;

if( addon.signedState != AddonManager.SIGNEDSTATE_UNKNOWN )
continue;

addon.signedState = AddonManager.SIGNEDSTATE_NOT_REQUIRED;
AddonManagerPrivate.callAddonListeners("onPropertyChanged",
addon.wrapper,
["signedState"]);

await XPIProvider.updateAddonDisabledState(addon);

}
XPIDatabase.saveChanges();
}

set_addons_as_signed();


- Then goto Add-ons --> select the gear --> "Debug Add-ons" --> "Load temporary Add-ons" --> select the ABP .xpi [ which in my case was labled : {d10d0bf8-f5b5-c8b4-a8b2-2b9879e08c5d}.xpi ]


Doing all the above allows ABP to function again as normal, BUT if I close FF I have to do the last part (debug add-ons) over again to get ABP to work.


All my other Add-ons which got DISABLED due to the verification issue work after doing the browser console fix and continue to work after a restart of FF. Just ABP still having the issue after all the above.



Hope the details above help!



Rob
Rapidshare
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun May 05, 2019 10:44 pm

Re: [firefox bug] ABP disabled by Firefox

Post by Rapidshare »

now automatic update , all fixed
Neil Prague
Posts: 22
Joined: Mon Jun 20, 2016 3:57 pm

Re: [firefox bug] ABP disabled by Firefox

Post by Neil Prague »

Yes me too. Many thanks to those at ABP for pressing the issue and making sure this got dealt with (relatively) quickly!
rms8
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun May 05, 2019 4:09 pm

Re: [firefox bug] ABP disabled by Firefox

Post by rms8 »

I (along w/many others) am on FF release 56.0.2 since that is the last release that allows me to continue to use some of my favorite add-ons. Anything newer will not allow me to use them and therefore I cannot customize the look and use of FF to my liking.

Add Block Plus will still uninstall itself each time I re-install my FF backup from March.

I found a way to keep ABP installed, but it reverts each time I restart close then open FF. To at least allow me to do this I had to do the following:


- Re-install my BU's (in Local and Remote directories)
- add new string via about:config and name it "devtools.chrome.enabled"
- I then had to open the BROWSER CONSOLE and run the following:

// For FF < v57 >...?
async function set_addons_as_signed() {
Components.utils.import("resource://gre/modules/addons/XPIProvider.jsm");
Components.utils.import("resource://gre/modules/AddonManager.jsm");
let XPIDatabase = this.XPIInternal.XPIDatabase;

let addons = await XPIDatabase.getAddonList(a => true);

for (let addon of addons) {
// The add-on might have vanished, we'll catch that on the next startup
if (!addon._sourceBundle.exists())
continue;

if( addon.signedState != AddonManager.SIGNEDSTATE_UNKNOWN )
continue;

addon.signedState = AddonManager.SIGNEDSTATE_NOT_REQUIRED;
AddonManagerPrivate.callAddonListeners("onPropertyChanged",
addon.wrapper,
["signedState"]);

await XPIProvider.updateAddonDisabledState(addon);

}
XPIDatabase.saveChanges();
}

set_addons_as_signed();


- Then goto Add-ons --> select the gear --> "Debug Add-ons" --> "Load temporary Add-ons" --> select the ABP .xpi [ which in my case was labled : {d10d0bf8-f5b5-c8b4-a8b2-2b9879e08c5d}.xpi ]


Doing all the above allows ABP to function again as normal, BUT if I close FF I have to do the last part (debug add-ons) over again to get ABP to work.


All my other Add-ons which got DISABLED due to the verification issue work after doing the browser console fix and continue to work after a restart of FF. Just ABP still having the issue after all the above.



Hope the details above help!



Rob
canard_idf
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon May 06, 2019 1:44 am

Re: [firefox bug] ABP disabled by Firefox

Post by canard_idf »

Hello,
Same problem for us in France !!!
Help, please. Thank you.
canard_idf
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon May 06, 2019 1:44 am

Re: Adblock Plus Disabled on Firefox

Post by canard_idf »

Hello,
Same problem for us in France !!!
Help, please. Thank you. (I speak and I write a very bad English... Sorry...).
mdlueck
Posts: 23
Joined: Sat Nov 20, 2010 11:14 pm

Re: Adblock Plus Disabled on Firefox

Post by mdlueck »

In addition to the latest Firefox / latest ABP getting grumpy at each other... the issue also has impacted my legacy FF 52.9.0 profile which was successfully running ABP version 3.5.2.

Suggestions how to get that legacy (last that supported all the extensions) not to disable that version of ABP? Perhaps I need to tweak that profile not to ever check for extension updates somehow?

I do have a backup of all profiles, so I can revert to the latest backup which has ABP working properly.

I just need to know a way to either get ABP enabled again, or how to disable Firefox from phoning home, realizing that I have "too old" of extension still.

TIA!
--
Michael Lueck
Lueck Data Systems
http://www.lueckdatasystems.com/
rms8
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun May 05, 2019 4:09 pm

Re: Adblock Plus Disabled on Firefox

Post by rms8 »

mdlueck wrote:In addition to the latest Firefox / latest ABP getting grumpy at each other... the issue also has impacted my legacy FF 52.9.0 profile which was successfully running ABP version 3.5.2.

Suggestions how to get that legacy (last that supported all the extensions) not to disable that version of ABP? Perhaps I need to tweak that profile not to ever check for extension updates somehow?

I do have a backup of all profiles, so I can revert to the latest backup which has ABP working properly.

I just need to know a way to either get ABP enabled again, or how to disable Firefox from phoning home, realizing that I have "too old" of extension still.

TIA!

FF does NOT phone home. This is a timer based issue. I unplugged the ethernet cable each time I restored my 2 month old FF backup copy, but each time ABP would uninstall itself even with the internet UNPLUGGED ! By doing the steps I posted above I was able to restore all the add-ons which kept getting disabled. They stay enabled even after restarting FF EXCEPT ABP. I have to "Load Temporary Add-On" from the debug console to get ABP to restore, but of course each time FF gets restarted, I ABP gets removed.


BTW, FF version 56.0.2 is the very last version which still allows legacy add-ons to work.
Shendue
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon May 06, 2019 9:33 am

Re: [firefox bug] ABP disabled by Firefox

Post by Shendue »

rms8 wrote:I (along w/many others) am on FF release 56.0.2 since that is the last release that allows me to continue to use some of my favorite add-ons. Anything newer will not allow me to use them and therefore I cannot customize the look and use of FF to my liking.

Add Block Plus will still uninstall itself each time I re-install my FF backup from March.

I found a way to keep ABP installed, but it reverts each time I restart close then open FF. To at least allow me to do this I had to do the following:

...

Rob

Thanks a bunch, works like a charm, but doesn't seem to go away when I restart FF at all, for me.
Maybe I did something different?
The only thing I can think of is that I asked to SAVE the script on the console.

Also, I had previously applied the other two workarounds suggested on this thread:

- Assigned a value of 0 to app.update.lastUpdateTime.xpi-signature-verification on about:config, that didn't work at all for me, tho, because not only plugins didn't start working again, but if I went on the plugins tab the value of the integer just reverted to the original

- Set xpinstall.signatures.required to FALSE

Maybe using your script AND setting xpinstall.signatures.required to FALSE does the trick?

Anyway, thanks for the help.
I'm stuck with FF 55 because I cannot bear the new interface, it's horrific, can't stand the Chrome-like single bar, when I can use 2, cannot stand the lack of customizeable buttons or bars, etc.
Unfortunately, the Classic Theme Restorer plugin doesn't work with Quantum, nor do other plugins I use like one that reinstates the "view image" and "search image" buttons on Google search images, another one that fixes an annoying bug with Firefox's history, and a couple other ones.
(All of which wouldn't even be necessary if the developers of FF and Google didn't pass their time castrating their own software by removing useful features, BTW.)
937carrera
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon May 06, 2019 11:00 am

Re: Adblock Plus Disabled on Firefox

Post by 937carrera »

Registered just to post this - Like you I want to use Firefox, not a Chrome copy.

I just got my 51.0.1 version working in the following way

Yesterday
1.Set xpinstall.signatures.required to FALSE
2. Installed the hotfix and made the change on

Not working this morning, ABP still not loading

Then I

3. Went into Add-Ons and enabled "de-bug addons"
4. "Temporarily" loaded ABP for debugging

ABP was immediately visible and operating. I was both surprised and pleased to see that following a FF restart ABP remained active and appears in the list of installed add ons

:D
rms8
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun May 05, 2019 4:09 pm

Re: [firefox bug] ABP disabled by Firefox

Post by rms8 »

Shendue wrote:
rms8 wrote:I (along w/many others) am on FF release 56.0.2 since that is the last release that allows me to continue to use some of my favorite add-ons. Anything newer will not allow me to use them and therefore I cannot customize the look and use of FF to my liking.

Add Block Plus will still uninstall itself each time I re-install my FF backup from March.

I found a way to keep ABP installed, but it reverts each time I restart close then open FF. To at least allow me to do this I had to do the following:

...

Rob

Thanks a bunch, works like a charm, but doesn't seem to go away when I restart FF at all, for me.
Maybe I did something different?
The only thing I can think of is that I asked to SAVE the script on the console.

Also, I had previously applied the other two workarounds suggested on this thread:

- Assigned a value of 0 to app.update.lastUpdateTime.xpi-signature-verification on about:config, that didn't work at all for me, tho, because not only plugins didn't start working again, but if I went on the plugins tab the value of the integer just reverted to the original

- Set xpinstall.signatures.required to FALSE

Maybe using your script AND setting xpinstall.signatures.required to FALSE does the trick?

Anyway, thanks for the help.
I'm stuck with FF 55 because I cannot bear the new interface, it's horrific, can't stand the Chrome-like single bar, when I can use 2, cannot stand the lack of customizeable buttons or bars, etc.
Unfortunately, the Classic Theme Restorer plugin doesn't work with Quantum, nor do other plugins I use like one that reinstates the "view image" and "search image" buttons on Google search images, another one that fixes an annoying bug with Firefox's history, and a couple other ones.
(All of which wouldn't even be necessary if the developers of FF and Google didn't pass their time castrating their own software by removing useful features, BTW.)



Yes, I did those other 2 suggestion 2 days ago, but no dice, I still have to add ABP via debug console each time I restart FF.

When you said "..The only thing I can think of is that I asked to SAVE the script on the console." how did you do this? I see no "SAVE" option available.
Adamantium87
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon May 06, 2019 4:17 pm

Re: Adblock Plus Disabled on Firefox

Post by Adamantium87 »

When are they going to put out a permanent fix so I reinstall Adblock plus on Comodo IceDragon?
sbell
ABP Technical Support Specialist
Posts: 522
Joined: Wed Jul 05, 2017 8:08 pm

Re: Adblock Plus Disabled on Firefox

Post by sbell »

Hello All!

Thanks for reaching out to us! Mozilla has released an official update to deal with this issue https://blog.mozilla.org/addons/2019/05 ... n-firefox/. If the update has not yet reached you, please try updating manually using this link https://www.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/new/. Let us know if this resolves your issue!
Captain a
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun May 05, 2019 5:10 pm

Re: Adblock Plus Disabled on Firefox

Post by Captain a »

Well, it look as though Firefox is going to chase a good many long time users to another browser. I'm going after this sh8t. No warning or explanation. How many hours have we all put in collectively trying to get our apps up again. Phooey! I really loved Firefox but now I'm so over them.
So, anybody care to put up some good alternate browsers that WILL run what we WANT to run on our own dam* computers?
JUST GOT THE UPDATE AND IT WON'T LOAD.

Firefox can’t find the file at chrome://unitedtb/content/webapps/mailto-handler.xul?mailto:?body=https%3A%2F%2Faddons.mozilla.org%2Fen-US%2Ffirefox%2Fguides%2Fstay-safe-online%2F&subject=Stay%20Safe%20Online%20%E2%80%93%20Add-ons%20for%20Firefox%20(en-US).

Check the file name for capitalization or other typing errors.
Check to see if the file was moved, renamed or deleted.
Last edited by Captain a on Mon May 06, 2019 6:23 pm, edited 1 time in total.
rms8
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun May 05, 2019 4:09 pm

Re: Adblock Plus Disabled on Firefox

Post by rms8 »

sbell wrote:Hello All!

Thanks for reaching out to us! Mozilla has released an official update to deal with this issue https://blog.mozilla.org/addons/2019/05 ... n-firefox/. If the update has not yet reached you, please try updating manually using this link https://www.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/new/. Let us know if this resolves your issue!




I (along w/many others) am on FF release 56.0.2 since that is the last release that allows me to continue to use some of my favorite add-ons. Anything newer will not allow me to use them and therefore I cannot customize the look and use of FF to my liking.

Add Block Plus will still uninstall itself each time I re-install my FF backup from March.

I found a way to keep ABP installed, but it reverts each time I restart FF. To at least allow me to do this I had to do the following:


- Re-install my BU's (in Local and Remote directories)
- add new string via about:config and name it "devtools.chrome.enabled"
- I then had to open the BROWSER CONSOLE and run the following:

// For FF < v57 >...?
async function set_addons_as_signed() {
Components.utils.import("resource://gre/modules/addons/XPIProvider.jsm");
Components.utils.import("resource://gre/modules/AddonManager.jsm");
let XPIDatabase = this.XPIInternal.XPIDatabase;

let addons = await XPIDatabase.getAddonList(a => true);

for (let addon of addons) {
// The add-on might have vanished, we'll catch that on the next startup
if (!addon._sourceBundle.exists())
continue;

if( addon.signedState != AddonManager.SIGNEDSTATE_UNKNOWN )
continue;

addon.signedState = AddonManager.SIGNEDSTATE_NOT_REQUIRED;
AddonManagerPrivate.callAddonListeners("onPropertyChanged",
addon.wrapper,
["signedState"]);

await XPIProvider.updateAddonDisabledState(addon);

}
XPIDatabase.saveChanges();
}

set_addons_as_signed();


- Then goto Add-ons --> select the gear --> "Debug Add-ons" --> "Load temporary Add-ons" --> select the ABP .xpi [ which in my case was labled : {d10d0bf8-f5b5-c8b4-a8b2-2b9879e08c5d}.xpi ]


Doing all the above allows ABP to function again as normal, BUT if I close FF I have to do the last part (debug add-ons) over again to get ABP to work.


All my other Add-ons which got DISABLED due to the verification issue work after doing the browser console fix and continue to work after a restart of FF. Just ABP still having the issue after all the above.



Hope the details above help!
Post Reply