Page 1 of 2

Website blocking me when using Adblock Plus

Posted: Wed Jul 26, 2006 11:19 am
by Wespe
Hi, the following is blocking me when I have Adblock Plus enabled.
Just go for it and wait a few seconds, then you will be redirected.
http://drago-sim.com

What can I do about that? Is there a way to visit the site, load the ads and suppress them from being displayed?

Posted: Wed Jul 26, 2006 1:18 pm
by publisher
vist another site if your trying to get around their code.

if they don't want you on the site because you are blocking adverts then thats up to them...its their site afterall.

Posted: Wed Jul 26, 2006 5:46 pm
by helping ghost
You can disable JavaScript, then you won't be redirected. But you will loose a lot of site functionality.

Since the anti-blocking javascript code is build into the site, you cannot get around it.

Posted: Thu Jul 27, 2006 12:20 am
by adum
You can also whitelist the site (@@http://drago-sim.com) and then use element hiding, at least with the worst ones.
For example, with this filter:
drago-sim.com#div(id*=pop)
the disturbing popup will not be displayed (but you will download it, so there will not be any bandwith saving). Remember that whitelisting does not afect to element hiding.
You can block any other ads, but it is not easy so I do not know if it worths the work.

Posted: Thu Jul 27, 2006 2:02 pm
by Wespe
adum wrote:drago-sim.com#div(id*=pop)
This one is great, thank you. But how do you know that you have to use "#div(id*=pop)"?

Posted: Thu Jul 27, 2006 10:17 pm
by adum
Wespe wrote:
adum wrote:drago-sim.com#div(id*=pop)
This one is great, thank you. But how do you know that you have to use "#div(id*=pop)"?
You should analyze the page HTML code using DOM Inspector (if you know enough CSS coding) or saving the page to local archive and checking it using an HTML editor like NVU (if you are a dumb like me).

Checking the code you can see that the popup window is a DIV element with a property: id=pop_44c91dc1e5ffc. I did not use the full id just in case they change it when updating the ad, but only the "pop" part.

It is not very easy, but learning a bit of HTML it takes only a short time and can be very amusing, and you can avoid a lot of very disturbing popup-ads.

Note: it is possible to make filters hiding every element and ad of the page and subpages using CSS rules and element hiding, but only real experts (and we have a lot of them in this forum) can do it.

Posted: Thu Jul 27, 2006 10:56 pm
by rick752
Someone else put me onto the Firebug extension a little while back for checking a page for elements ... it sure made life a lot easier for me:

https://addons.mozilla.org/firefox/1843/

... use the INSPECT mode to highlight the element.

Posted: Sun Jul 30, 2006 4:52 am
by Stupid Head
If you want to get your feet wet analyzing elements without using full-blown extensions such as the DOM inspector or Firebug, try the Mouseover DOM Inspector. It's a bookmarklet, which means it's pure javascript and requires no installation. It's a lot easier to use too.

http://slayeroffice.com/tools/modi/v2.0/modi_help.html

Posted: Sun Aug 06, 2006 8:32 pm
by Wladimir Palant
This site checks whether the ad frames loaded correctly. You can kill the check by executing the following script when the page loads (with GreaseMonkey this should be easy):

Code: Select all

document.body.getElementsByTagName = function(){return null}
After that the check will produce a JavaScript error and won't actually do anything.

How i use It?

Posted: Mon Aug 28, 2006 9:29 pm
by marcel
Hi, i have installed greasemonkey, but i don't know how i made the script
Thanks

Posted: Mon Aug 28, 2006 11:23 pm
by Wladimir Palant
I don't have GreaseMonkey installed but from the look at the other scripts this should do:

Code: Select all

// ==UserScript==
// @name          drago-sim Anti-Anti-Adblocker
// @namespace     http://adblockplus.org/forum/viewtopic.php?t=667
// @description   Disables the anti-adblocking script on drago-sim.com
// @include       http://drago-sim.com/*
// ==/UserScript==

window.addEventListener("load", function() {
  document.body.getElementsByTagName = function(){return null}
}, false);

something wrong

Posted: Tue Aug 29, 2006 8:20 am
by marcelg
Thanks Wladimir Palant, but something must be wrong with seamonkey, because even i open it i can't see the script installed, or maybe i do it wrong.
Thanks again

no way

Posted: Tue Aug 29, 2006 8:58 am
by marcelg
Well at last i have installed it, but dragosim still fail with:
Disable your Ad Blocker! DragoSim only works with disabled Ad Blockers!
I have disabled also adblock, but no way.
Thanks again.

Posted: Tue Aug 29, 2006 2:09 pm
by Wladimir Palant
Ok, it seems that Gecko's security measures don't let this script access the page. Here is a working script:

Code: Select all

// ==UserScript==
// @name          drago-sim Anti-Anti-Adblocker
// @namespace     http://adblockplus.org/forum/viewtopic.php?t=667
// @description   Disables the anti-adblocking script on drago-sim.com
// @include       http://drago-sim.com/*
// ==/UserScript==

window.wrappedJSObject.initSimDataX = null;
Save it as dragosim.user.js and open in your browser - you will get a prompt allowing you to install it.

Problem gone

Posted: Tue Aug 29, 2006 6:50 pm
by marcelg
Thanks a lot Wladimir, now it works.