Bet365 Issue (Firefox 84)

Everything about using Adblock Plus on Mozilla Firefox, Thunderbird and SeaMonkey
PedroNeto

Bet365 Issue (Firefox 84)

Post by PedroNeto »

Hi all,

I'm having an issue with bet365.com on Firefox 84. Essentially, the page won't load, and I get the error: "A web page is slowing down your browser. What would you like to do?". The options are stop it or wait but waiting never loads the page, the error simply reoccurs. I know I am not the only one having this issue as I have seen others post about it on a gambling forum.

I have narrowed down the issue to Adblock Plus. The site loads perfectly fine with ABP disabled in an Incognito window and perfectly fine on Edge. I have whitelisted the site but this appears to make no difference.

Any idea of the cause of this, or a workaround? I use the site frequently as I work in the betting industry so ideally could do with it working as intended.

Thanks in advance.
fpe

Re: Bet365 Issue (Firefox 84)

Post by fpe »

I got the same issue with bet365.com and adblock plus.
I tested both Firefox 86 / Firefox ESR 78.8 and latest adblock plus, I disabled all filters and add to whitelist bet365.com but still same problem - "A web page is slowing down your browser."
If disable adblock addon then the website open works fine. So for now I just set the addon Adblock plus to do not use it in Private windows and I open bet365.com in private window when I use it and this way works.
greiner
ABP Developer

Re: Bet365 Issue (Firefox 84)

Post by greiner »

We are actively looking into this internally. From what we're seeing in the page's obfuscated code, this behavior appears to be intentional by Bet365 in an attempt to lock you out.