YouTube now shows "An error has occurred" while ads running

Everything about using Adblock Plus on Google Chrome

Re: YouTube now shows "An error has occurred" while ads running

Postby mapx » Thu Mar 10, 2016 2:52 pm

Be also sure you are not using some blocking HOSTS file or adblocking router firmware.
You should try also using the google DNS, just to be sure:
8.8.8.8
8.8.4.4
User avatar
mapx
 
Posts: 21947
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2011 3:01 pm

Re: YouTube now shows "An error has occurred" while ads running

Postby mapx » Thu Mar 10, 2016 2:54 pm

another test you could do:
"install" chrome portable, then only ABP + easylist and test again.
http://portableapps.com/apps/internet/g ... e_portable
User avatar
mapx
 
Posts: 21947
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2011 3:01 pm

Re: YouTube now shows "An error has occurred" while ads running

Postby Clappie » Thu Mar 10, 2016 2:55 pm

I have Bitdefender.

Just tried turning everything off in it.

The error still appears on Youtube.
Clappie
 
Posts: 23
Joined: Thu Mar 10, 2016 2:17 pm

Re: YouTube now shows "An error has occurred" while ads running

Postby Clappie » Thu Mar 10, 2016 3:04 pm

Alright, have done the DNS.

Have tried using Chrome Portable with AdBlock + Easylist.

Still doesn't work there.
Clappie
 
Posts: 23
Joined: Thu Mar 10, 2016 2:17 pm

Re: YouTube now shows "An error has occurred" while ads running

Postby Clappie » Thu Mar 10, 2016 3:07 pm

Just tested with my Laptop aswell.

Nothing but Adblock Plus.

Doesn't work, error still appears, and it's Windows 10.
Clappie
 
Posts: 23
Joined: Thu Mar 10, 2016 2:17 pm

Re: YouTube now shows "An error has occurred" while ads running

Postby SadeRat » Thu Mar 10, 2016 3:12 pm

I busted out my older laptop and the same version of Adblock Plus is working just fine on it. In my attempt to find the discrepencies between the two I updated the EasyList filter list on this current laptop, even though it claimed to be up to date. The problem seems to have resolved for the moment, though I'm not sure if that was the solution or this is just coincidence.
SadeRat
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Mar 10, 2016 2:15 pm

Re: YouTube now shows "An error has occurred" while ads running

Postby mapx » Thu Mar 10, 2016 3:14 pm

So, forcing updating easylist it worked. Good to know.
User avatar
mapx
 
Posts: 21947
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2011 3:01 pm

Re: YouTube now shows "An error has occurred" while ads running

Postby Clappie » Thu Mar 10, 2016 3:18 pm

Just tried forcing Easylist to Update. Not working :/
Clappie
 
Posts: 23
Joined: Thu Mar 10, 2016 2:17 pm

Re: YouTube now shows "An error has occurred" while ads running

Postby mapx » Thu Mar 10, 2016 3:31 pm

Clappie wrote:Just tried forcing Easylist to Update. Not working :/


Could you try chrome portable + ABP ?
User avatar
mapx
 
Posts: 21947
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2011 3:01 pm

Re: YouTube now shows "An error has occurred" while ads running

Postby Clappie » Thu Mar 10, 2016 3:40 pm

mapx wrote:
Clappie wrote:Just tried forcing Easylist to Update. Not working :/


Could you try chrome portable + ABP ?



I did just earlier. Not working.


I have found out that as long as I am logged into Youtube, this error persists. But as soon as I log out, none of them appears. This seems to be supported by others.
Clappie
 
Posts: 23
Joined: Thu Mar 10, 2016 2:17 pm

Re: YouTube now shows "An error has occurred" while ads running

Postby SadeRat » Thu Mar 10, 2016 5:22 pm

Well, the EasyList update fix may not have worked after all. I'm still getting the error, but not as often as before. It was very reproducible before, but its now so erratic that testing is difficult. Anyway, it seems to have subsided to a level I can live with. Hopefully it stays this way.
SadeRat
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Mar 10, 2016 2:15 pm

Re: YouTube now shows "An error has occurred" while ads running

Postby Clappie » Thu Mar 10, 2016 6:12 pm

SadeRat wrote:Well, the EasyList update fix may not have worked after all. I'm still getting the error, but not as often as before. It was very reproducible before, but its now so erratic that testing is difficult. Anyway, it seems to have subsided to a level I can live with. Hopefully it stays this way.



It appears to be something stupid on Youtube side of things.

Everything works fine when logged out.

I just logged into an Alternative account, everything works fine there, even WITH Adblock enabled.

But as soon as I log back into my main account, the error starts reappearing. And there is NO way to get in contact with Youtube Support, because there isn't any!

Gargh, I am annoyed. This is fucking stupid.
Clappie
 
Posts: 23
Joined: Thu Mar 10, 2016 2:17 pm

Re: YouTube now shows "An error has occurred" while ads running

Postby Zeak » Thu Mar 10, 2016 6:52 pm

I have found out that as long as I am logged into Youtube, this error persists. But as soon as I log out, none of them appears. This seems to be supported by others.


This also seems to be the case for me
Zeak
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Mar 09, 2016 10:43 pm

Re: YouTube now shows "An error has occurred" while ads running

Postby SwitchbladeKult » Fri Mar 11, 2016 1:39 am

I have found a sort of work around. I was able to avoid the error by watching videos with no error back to back off a off a playlist while in full screen. I discovered it while watching my "watch later" playlist. As long as when the current video ends and it transitions to the next video you are in full screen you will not see the error. If you aren't in full screen when the video ends as the next video starts it'll get the error and you'll have to wait through the delay.

Edit: To avoid the error on the first video on in playlist just use the navigation buttons to skip to the second video then back to the first video while in full screen.

Windows 10
Chrome Version 49.0.2623.87 m
SwitchbladeKult
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Mar 11, 2016 1:29 am

Re: YouTube now shows "An error has occurred" while ads running

Postby Clappie » Fri Mar 11, 2016 2:26 am

Heya, just got help on the Youtube Help forums.

They told me to try using Chrome Canary browser, and so far everything works there. On my main account, got Adblock Plus, no Errors.

Still hoping that whatever is happening between Adblockers/Youtube/Chrome/other browsers gets fixed. As i get errors on Chrome, long periodes of darkness on Firefox. But nothing on Canary.

Hope this all gets sorted out.
Clappie
 
Posts: 23
Joined: Thu Mar 10, 2016 2:17 pm

PreviousNext

Return to Adblock Plus for Chrome support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 15 guests