Page 1 of 1

Change web content, possible ?

Posted: Tue Mar 29, 2011 1:03 pm
by Noggie
Site: http://www.tradera.com

This site had an ad at the top, adblock removed it (with my help) but the space is still there due to this little piece of code:

Code: Select all

<div class="headerWrapperThin" style="margin-top:136px">
Screenshot:
Image

So is it possible for adblock to change that code to:

Code: Select all

<div class="headerWrapperThin">
Filters i added to remove the ads:

Code: Select all

tradera.com##div.topBannerContainerSlim
tradera.com##DIV#bannerTop
tradera.com##DIV#bannerSkyscraper
tradera.com##iframe[class^="aa-if"]
tradera.com##embed[id^="Fusionflash_"][name^="Fusionflash_"]
tradera.com##a[onclick^="window.Fusion.countAdvertEvent("][onclick$=", 'click'); return true;"]

Re: Change web content, possible ?

Posted: Tue Mar 29, 2011 1:33 pm
by fanboy
Does the swedish regional do fine? (the blank space still shows on the main page, but other pages hosted on that domain seem fine..)

Re: Change web content, possible ?

Posted: Tue Mar 29, 2011 2:35 pm
by Noggie
fanboy wrote:Does the swedish regional do fine?
Not sure what you mean.

It affects these pages too (random examples):
http://www.tradera.com/category/Categor ... gPage.aspx

http://www.tradera.com/Hemelektronik-17
http://www.tradera.com/Bocker-Tidningar-11
http://www.tradera.com/Accessoarer-1612

Re: Change web content, possible ?

Posted: Tue Mar 29, 2011 3:08 pm
by fanboy
You can't collapse something thats not there

Re: Change web content, possible ?

Posted: Tue Mar 29, 2011 4:33 pm
by Noggie
fanboy wrote:You can't collapse something thats not there
I know that, Read the first post again, please.

I'm asking if adblock can change this

Code: Select all

<div class="headerWrapperThin" style="margin-top:136px">
to this:

Code: Select all

<div class="headerWrapperThin">
So is it possible ?
If not then i will request this feature.

Re: Change web content, possible ?

Posted: Tue Mar 29, 2011 8:30 pm
by ttjoseph
If I understand correctly, it seems like you're asking whether ABP can arbitrarily rewrite CSS rules? If so, it can't.

Re: Change web content, possible ?

Posted: Tue Mar 29, 2011 9:06 pm
by Ares2
Noggie wrote:If not then i will request this feature.
There is already such a suggestion: forum/viewtopic.php?t=5977

And there is always the possibility to use Stylish to do it yourself: https://addons.mozilla.org/addon/stylish/

Re: Change web content, possible ?

Posted: Wed Mar 30, 2011 11:42 am
by Noggie
ttjoseph wrote:If I understand correctly, it seems like you're asking whether ABP can arbitrarily rewrite CSS rules? If so, it can't.
Well i just want the support to be able to modify the web page to be able to remove ad space holes, like the one above

Like:

Code: Select all

tradera.com##DIV[class="headerWrapperThin"][remove_attr="style", if_value="margin-top:136px"]
something like that

When i think about it, why haven't this feature been added already ?
What was the developer(s) reason for not supporting it ?

Re: Change web content, possible ?

Posted: Thu Mar 31, 2011 1:25 pm
by Noggie
Can the developer(s) perhaps answer these questions, please ?

Re: Change web content, possible ?

Posted: Thu Mar 31, 2011 7:37 pm
by ttjoseph
Did you check the link to the other topic above that Ares2 posted? There is some discussion of the considerations.

I can't speak for Wladimir. To me personally, it seems like a considerable amount of work and complexity - not just in coding it, but in maintaining it - for a relatively small gain in overall ads blocked.

On the other hand, if ads in general become complex enough to really require this sort of manipulation to remove them properly, this type of thing might become necessary.