tvcatchup

Everything about using Adblock Plus on Google Chrome

tvcatchup

Postby ptcjohn » Thu Feb 09, 2012 9:42 pm

Just had a rather stroppy answer from tvcatchup.com. My complaint was everything was working with adblock now i cant receive any stream from tvcatchup without dissabling adblock.I understand the ads that are streamed are not blockable as there is no way to distinguish between the programme or the ad. I was using adblock to get rid of the banners and ads that annoyingly surrounded the window. TVcatchup blamed adblock and their only recommendation was to turn it off!!! This i find strange as bbciplayer works fine itvplayer works fine 4OD works fine. My thinking is they have done something to ensure the ads are getting through so as to guarantee to their advertisement subscribers their monies are not being wasted. Any thoughts on this???
ptcjohn
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Feb 09, 2012 9:33 pm

Re: tvcatchup

Postby lewisje » Fri Feb 10, 2012 4:59 am

It's a false positive in one of your filter-lists or your custom filters; you might try using the Web Inspector to see which requests get cancelled, or wait for someone else in the UK to do the same (I can't debug because tvcatchup.com is not available in the US).
lewisje
 
Posts: 1406
Joined: Mon Jun 14, 2010 12:07 pm

Re: tvcatchup

Postby Guest » Fri Feb 10, 2012 12:20 pm

lewisje wrote:It's a false positive in one of your filter-lists or your custom filters; you might try using the Web Inspector to see which requests get cancelled, or wait for someone else in the UK to do the same (I can't debug because tvcatchup.com is not available in the US).

not using any custom filters. adblock is at default.Adblock was working fine for sometime. Problem appeared suddenly.
Guest
 

Re: tvcatchup

Postby nitrox » Sat Feb 11, 2012 1:34 am

fixed in fanboy adblock list. Just force an update.

These are the whitelists that are needed.
Code: Select all
@@||dc.tremormedia.com/crossdomain.xml$domain=tvcatchup.com
@@||inskinad.com/ISAPAdServer/AdS.aspx?$script,domain=tvcatchup.com

http://hg.fanboy.co.nz/rev/13b255a21410

FYI, You won't see any ads on iPlayer even when adblock plus is disabled. BBC don't show any ads on their TV channel as well as their websites for UK viewers because we pay them via TV license fee.
Fanboy list Co-Maintainer

Fanboy Adblock List's

Fanboy List Forum
User avatar
nitrox
 
Posts: 166
Joined: Wed Nov 18, 2009 12:57 pm
Location: ::1

Re: tvcatchup

Postby MonztA » Sat Feb 11, 2012 4:44 pm

Thanks nitrox, fixed in EasyList as well https://hg.adblockplus.org/easylist/rev/72dfbfe405d9
MonztA
 
Posts: 3473
Joined: Mon Aug 14, 2006 12:18 am
Location: Germany

Re: tvcatchup

Postby lewisje » Sun Feb 12, 2012 2:05 pm

Guest wrote:adblock is at default
For a few months now, "default" has included a random selection of EasyList, Fanboy Adblock, or Adversity as the main ABP list, so next time a problem comes up, you need to tell us what list it is, even if you've never explicitly subscribed to a list.
lewisje
 
Posts: 1406
Joined: Mon Jun 14, 2010 12:07 pm

Re: tvcatchup

Postby Coolio Wolfus » Tue May 07, 2013 7:45 pm

Had a look at this myself.
The current fix offsets the channel list to the left.
Researching shows most of the InSkin divs are not a problem for it.
Code: Select all
tvcatchup.com##.InSkinBaseContainer_myPageSkin

Controls the channel list border advertising.

I just need to figure out how to make the rest of the InSkin's exceptions to see if it helps.
Coolio Wolfus
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Jan 21, 2013 4:17 pm


Return to Adblock Plus for Chrome

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests