chrome ==> Error in console

Posting here is no longer possible, please use the corresponding product forum.
Locked
4adOFF

chrome ==> Error in console

Post by 4adOFF »

Error in event handler for (unknown): Error: An invalid or illegal string was specified.
at setRules (chrome-extension://cfhdojbkjhnklbpkdaibdccddilifddb/include.preload.js:54:17)
at setElemhideCSSRules (chrome-extension://cfhdojbkjhnklbpkdaibdccddilifddb/include.preload.js:57:3)
at messageListener (extensions::messaging:343:9)
at Function.target.(anonymous function) (extensions::SafeBuiltins:19:14)
at Event.dispatchToListener (extensions::event_bindings:394:22)
at Event.dispatch_ (extensions::event_bindings:378:27)
at Event.dispatch (extensions::event_bindings:400:17)
at dispatchOnMessage (extensions::messaging:307:22) extensions::event_bindings:382
Event.dispatch_ extensions::event_bindings:382
Event.dispatch extensions::event_bindings:400
dispatchOnMessage extensions::messaging:307

aleksey.4adoff@yandex.ru
User avatar
mapx
Posts: 21940
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2011 2:01 pm

Re: Error in console

Post by mapx »

chrome version ? ABP version ?
ahashim

Re: Error in console

Post by ahashim »

I'm getting the same error.

Chrome Version 33.0.1750.117
ABP Version 1.7.4
event

Re: Error in console

Post by event »

I have the same error in console too. And ABP not locked Facebook Ads
Chrome v33.0.1750.117m, ABP v1.7.4
User avatar
mapx
Posts: 21940
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2011 2:01 pm

Re: chrome ==> Error in console

Post by mapx »

no issues here, using
Chrome v33.0.1750.117 => portable
ABP 1.7.4.1114 (dev build)
logost

Re: chrome ==> Error in console

Post by logost »

I have the same errors. As far as I understand, this exception is fired for some selectors and consequently reproduction of the bug depends on subscriptions. With "RuAdList+EasyList" subscription that exception is fired when i=80 in the code below.
The following change fixes the problem:
include.preload.js:

Code: Select all

function setRules()
  {
    if (!elt.sheet)
    {
      // Stylesheet didn't initialize yet, wait a little longer
      window.setTimeout(setRules, 0);
      return;
    }

    // WebKit apparently chokes when the selector list in a CSS rule is huge.
    // So we split the elemhide selectors into groups.
    for (var i = 0, j = 0; i < selectors.length; i += SELECTOR_GROUP_SIZE, j++)
    {
      var selector = selectors.slice(i, i + SELECTOR_GROUP_SIZE).join(", ");
+      try{
        elt.sheet.insertRule(selector + " { display: none !important; }", j);
+      }catch(e){}
    }
  }
p_hill
Posts: 438
Joined: Mon Feb 03, 2014 5:26 pm
Location: Cologne

Re: chrome ==> Error in console

Post by p_hill »

If this still occurs for you, please file a detailed report with an example URL and your active filter lists at https://issues.adblockplus.org
Locked