Facebook "Get updates from ... force login or register"

Posting here is no longer possible, please use the forum of a filter list project, such as EasyList
Locked
User avatar
MOB
Posts: 32
Joined: Sun Mar 15, 2015 8:14 am
Contact:

Facebook "Get updates from ... force login or register"

Post by MOB »

Recently I noticed that Facebook added a "force login or register" tactic.

When you visit an open "public" page at Facebook from either a celebrity, company, or whatever. And if you are not logged in or don't have a Facebook account. When you start to scroll down to read the page, a white sheet starts to cover the page, with a message that you need to either register or login and etc. (see screenshot below):

Image

Well here is the code I am currently using to block this effect.

Code: Select all

facebook.com##._5ctm
Hopefully it helps you out, or a better code can be shared. :)
Last edited by MOB on Wed Dec 16, 2015 3:00 am, edited 3 times in total.
User avatar
mapx
Posts: 21940
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2011 2:01 pm

Re: Facebook "Get updates from ... force login or register"

Post by mapx »

You can upload the screenshot to some dedicated server (like imgur.com) and post here the link.
User avatar
MOB
Posts: 32
Joined: Sun Mar 15, 2015 8:14 am
Contact:

Re: Facebook "Get updates from ... force login or register"

Post by MOB »

OK done! :)

P.S. Good job on the IOS Adblock Browser -- had an old iPad 2 that I didn't use anymore because of so many ads on websites, now I can use it again.
User avatar
smed79
Posts: 1224
Joined: Thu Jan 14, 2010 11:51 pm
Location: EasyList Forum
Contact:

Re: Facebook "Get updates from ... force login or register"

Post by smed79 »

MOB wrote:had an old iPad 2 that I didn't use anymore because of so many ads on websites, now I can use it again.
if your device is jailbroken ...

1. Install OpenSSH on your device.
2. Download this replacement adblock hosts file http://someonewhocares.org/hosts/hosts
3. Connect to your iPad/iPhone using SFTP clien (FileZilla, WinSCP ...).
4. Navigate to /etc/ and drag that file to the sftp window clien. (replace when it asks to you).
5. Restart!

hosts (file) >> https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hosts_%28file%29
User avatar
MOB
Posts: 32
Joined: Sun Mar 15, 2015 8:14 am
Contact:

Re: Facebook "Get updates from ... force login or register"

Post by MOB »

Well Facebook added another feature or changed it. :(

Now you get this instead when you visit an open "public" page.

Image

I tried blocking it, but the issue is that I can't scroll the page anymore. Help?

Below is the code I tried blocking--it blocks it, but can't scroll the page.

Code: Select all

facebook.com##.timelineSignUpDialog
User avatar
smed79
Posts: 1224
Joined: Thu Jan 14, 2010 11:51 pm
Location: EasyList Forum
Contact:

Re: Facebook "Get updates from ... force login or register"

Post by smed79 »

browsing https://www.facebook.com/imdb/ nothing to report ! i am not force to login.
>> http://i.imgur.com/509nWL4.jpg

submit an issue report (only Firefox) and post the link here.
User avatar
MOB
Posts: 32
Joined: Sun Mar 15, 2015 8:14 am
Contact:

Re: Facebook "Get updates from ... force login or register"

Post by MOB »

smed79 wrote:browsing https://www.facebook.com/imdb/ nothing to report ! i am not force to login.
>> http://i.imgur.com/509nWL4.jpg

submit an issue report (only Firefox) and post the link here.
From your screenshot, I can see you are on a different country? I wonder if the block is within countries? Maybe visit the USA version of that page??

I just visited that page, and I get the login / register notice. Can't view the entire page.

Image

I have no clue why you are telling me to report a false positive. I think you ought to read the entire thread a bit more carefully, perhaps you missed something why I am reporting this. :)
User avatar
smed79
Posts: 1224
Joined: Thu Jan 14, 2010 11:51 pm
Location: EasyList Forum
Contact:

Re: Facebook "Get updates from ... force login or register"

Post by smed79 »

first test from north africa (DZ), second test with US ip adress (VPN) + English version >> http://i.imgur.com/WY48Gtc.jpg (No login / register notice).
User avatar
MOB
Posts: 32
Joined: Sun Mar 15, 2015 8:14 am
Contact:

Re: Facebook "Get updates from ... force login or register"

Post by MOB »

That's odd. What browser are you using? I am using Mozilla Firefox.

When I visit the page, it looks fine, but once I try to scroll to the bottom, that's when the login pop ups and doesn't disappear. If I don't try to scroll the page, I can even take a screenshot like you did. But once I scroll, the login page blocks it.

I wonder if giving you a source code of the page, can help you out?

http://www.mixingonbeat.com/media/misc/fb_source.txt -- let me know when you got it, so I can remove it from my site.
User avatar
MOB
Posts: 32
Joined: Sun Mar 15, 2015 8:14 am
Contact:

Re: Facebook "Get updates from ... force login or register"

Post by MOB »

Sorry for the double-post, but I've also created a flash video -- so you can see my issue, when I visit that Facebook public page:

http://www.mixingonbeat.com/media/misc/fb/fb.html
User avatar
smed79
Posts: 1224
Joined: Thu Jan 14, 2010 11:51 pm
Location: EasyList Forum
Contact:

Re: Facebook "Get updates from ... force login or register"

Post by smed79 »

I confirme now , i have the login popup if i try to scroll to the bottom :?
I think you need a userscript to disable these embed javascript codes !

Code: Select all

<script>bigPipe.beforePageletArrive("pagelet_growth_signup_modal")</script>
<script>require("TimeSlice").guard(function() {bigPipe.onPageletArrive({"content":{"pagelet_growth_signup_modal":""},.........
Try to submit a request https://greasyfork.org/en/forum/categor ... t-requests
User avatar
MOB
Posts: 32
Joined: Sun Mar 15, 2015 8:14 am
Contact:

Re: Facebook "Get updates from ... force login or register"

Post by MOB »

Well today I visited the Facebook public page and I can scroll without getting the login popup. Seemed they changed something over at Facebook? Or was there an Adblock Plus update that fixes that as well?

FYI, I still have these in place:

Code: Select all

facebook.com##._3ixn
facebook.com###timelineSignUpDialog
facebook.com##.timelineLoggedOutSignUp
User avatar
MOB
Posts: 32
Joined: Sun Mar 15, 2015 8:14 am
Contact:

Re: Facebook "Get updates from ... force login or register"

Post by MOB »

It seems that Facebook does this periodically. Yesterday I got another "force register login" to a public page. Here is another filter that seems to fix it.

Code: Select all

facebook.com###dialog_0
So so far I got these filters in Adblock Plus:

Code: Select all

facebook.com##._5ctm
facebook.com##.timelineLoggedOutSignUp
facebook.com###dialog_0
facebook.com###timelineSignUpDialog
facebook.com##._3ixn
User avatar
smed79
Posts: 1224
Joined: Thu Jan 14, 2010 11:51 pm
Location: EasyList Forum
Contact:

Re: Facebook "Get updates from ... force login or register"

Post by smed79 »

Code: Select all

facebook.com###pagelet_growth_expanding_cta
>> https://forums.lanik.us/viewtopic.php?f=62&t=27513
Locked