Page 1 of 1

[Done] Direct deleting of blocked address

PostPosted: Thu Mar 20, 2008 9:46 am
by lockad
Hi,

When clicking on the red ABP icon on the toolbar, a bottom window named "Blockable items on current page" opens.
Deleting an address from here is impossible : you have to enter in "Edit filter...".
IMHO, a right context menu item "Delete" would be very useful...

Regards.

ABP 0.7.5.3 / NAVIGATOR 9.0.0.6 / WIN98 SE

PostPosted: Thu Mar 20, 2008 11:27 am
by Hubird
I agree, A Disable / Delete filter option in the "Blockable Items" list would be good idea.

PostPosted: Thu Mar 20, 2008 2:42 pm
by Wladimir Palant
"Delete" what exactly? The entry definitely cannot be deleted, it is something the web page requested.

"Disable the filter foo" for blocked items might be a possibility however.

Re: Direct deleting of blocked address

PostPosted: Thu Mar 20, 2008 2:44 pm
by Wladimir Palant

PostPosted: Thu Mar 20, 2008 4:01 pm
by lockad
Wladimir Palant wrote:The entry definitely cannot be deleted, it is something the web page requested.


Thanks for answering.

What a pity !
Avoiding the "Edit" menu would be fine...

Regards.

Re: Direct deleting of blocked address

PostPosted: Thu Mar 20, 2008 4:11 pm
by lockad


I discovered very recently this browser and I fell in love with it (...after testing many, many shit... proggies). :mrgreen:

End of support don't bother me ! 8)

Regards.

PostPosted: Thu Mar 20, 2008 4:19 pm
by Wladimir Palant
Well, it was already by far the least secure Gecko-based browser around - continuing to use it now is just irresponsible.

PostPosted: Thu Mar 20, 2008 9:51 pm
by Adblock Plus Fan
Wladimir Palant wrote:"Disable the filter foo" for blocked items might be a possibility however.
I like this idea.

It goes against the "few choices = good" philosophy but it does make things easier I think.

(And it's easier to explain it this way to people who dont know how to disable.)

PostPosted: Fri Mar 21, 2008 7:37 pm
by Adblock Plus Fan
Hmmm. Or how about integrating this column with the grey/green bullets into the blockable items menu?
Image



Imagine this situation:
An object appears unblocked on the list.
User clicks grey bullet to block object.
ABP first scans every disabled filters to see if one matches.
If match, disabled filter is enabled.
If no match, ABP offers to create new filter like normal.

I think this would make analysing of certain sites easier.

PostPosted: Fri Mar 21, 2008 7:46 pm
by Wladimir Palant
It would be too non-obvious what the user did there. I think it might even be an issue with the context menu: "I disabled the filter 'foo' just to test it, now I have ads all over the page - how do I get it back?"

Edit: Sorry, didn't read the proposal carefully enough. Yes, this makes sense.

PostPosted: Fri Mar 21, 2008 8:50 pm
by Adblock Plus Fan
Wladimir Palant wrote:"I disabled the filter 'foo' just to test it, now I have ads all over the page - how do I get it back?"
Yep, I think you hit the point here against the first suggestion.

And even now this is an issue I run into myself when I disable multiple filters at a time to test a page.

A "disabled filter" scanner accompanying this quick disable functionality would improve usability of the blockable items list a lot I think.




Adblock Plus Fan wrote:Hmmm. Or how about integrating this column with the grey/green bullets into the blockable items menu?
Image
Stupid me, we already have this integrated:
ImageNow if we could just have the functionalities above added :P

PostPosted: Mon Mar 31, 2008 8:17 am
by sheepy
What I'm doing now:

open blockable item list, double click item blocked by rule you want to delete (jump to preference screen), press 'delete' or 'space'
:wink:

PostPosted: Fri Apr 04, 2008 1:20 am
by Adblock Plus Fan
sheepy wrote:What I'm doing now:

open blockable item list, double click item blocked by rule you want to delete (jump to preference screen), press 'delete' or 'space'
:wink:
Yes this is all right when you only test one filter at a time. But if you disabled multiple filters to test something it can be a pain to reactivate all the right filters, even more so when if you already have a bunch of disabled filters prior.

At the moment I use specific whitelists when I need to disable a filter for testing. This is easier because I only have a handful of them and they are easy enough to locate when I need to reset everything.
If only whitelists worked for hiding rules in firefox 3 :P