Page 1 of 1

[Done] Customizable default in filter composer

PostPosted: Sat Dec 06, 2008 5:25 pm
by Adblock Plus Fan
Discussion started here:
http://adblockplus.org/forum/viewtopic. ... 2567#22567

http://adblockplus.org/images/73.png
Basically I want to be able to choose which of those 4 rows should be the default suggestion in the composer.

Can we have an about:config option for this?

I tried to give the default choice a chance ever since it was introduced in the dev. builds, but I never really got used to it. As posted in the other topic, I feel it's annoying to change to the 4th option every time.

PostPosted: Sat Dec 06, 2008 6:19 pm
by theinvoker
i agree

PostPosted: Sun Dec 07, 2008 2:46 am
by Ares2
+1

PostPosted: Mon Dec 08, 2008 3:16 pm
by rick752
+2

Re:

PostPosted: Mon Dec 08, 2008 4:49 pm
by smk
+3

PostPosted: Mon Dec 08, 2008 7:07 pm
by Ares2
Hmm, maybe you should think about the default option again. While it may be the best one if you're trying to block ads, most people use a subscription for that anyway and use ABP to block other images. Then this option is really bad (see http://adblockplus.org/forum/viewtopic.php?t=3243 ).

While some people complaining about ads "coming back" are really bearable (as you can tell them they should choose a different option in the filter composer, or they even see it themselves after blocking some similar ads), having many people who are writing too general rules is definitely worse IMO.

PostPosted: Mon Dec 08, 2008 9:27 pm
by Wladimir Palant
"Me too" comments really aren't helping...

@Ares2: I don't think that the default should be changed - of course we get relatively many complains after a release, but so far nobody complained about having blocked too much. So far we only had experienced users complaining about having to break their habits.

PostPosted: Mon Dec 15, 2008 8:58 pm
by Wladimir Palant
Done: http://hg.mozdev.org/adblockplus/rev/50f1e025fc37

This added a hidden preference extensions.adblockplus.composer_default. Default value is 2. 0 means "Custom", 1 means "Full URL without query", 3 means "Host name only".

I've tried adding the extensions.adblockplus.composer_defaul

PostPosted: Tue Dec 23, 2008 8:39 am
by meo1960
and changed it to all possible values with no change in the default option on the adblock plus screen


It wasn't stated but I assumed the value to add to the about:config screen was an INTEGER VALUE, is this correct?

Also, the link citing the code isn't clear to me why that is there. Am I supposed to add this code into firefox somehow? If so, I really havent a clue how to do that.

Any Help would be appreciated. I have FF version 3.05 and adblock plus version 1.0

PostPosted: Tue Dec 23, 2008 11:07 am
by MonztA
You need the latest development build.