Page 1 of 1

[Done] Blockable items column indicating element domain

PostPosted: Tue Dec 30, 2008 6:10 pm
by Adblock Plus Fan
Adblock Plus Fan wrote:2. The Filter column very faintly hints that the yieldmanager script is not loaded from mediafire.com, but it is loaded from a frame.

@Wladimir
do you think this issue is worth making a new column in the blockable items list?
I was thinking about an extra column that tells us which domain the item is loaded from. I think this might help to get better overview now that we got domain specific filters.

(And maybe we could have a context menu option to copy the domain? Or maybe that's useless...)


edited:

PostPosted: Tue Jan 06, 2009 10:00 am
by Wladimir Palant
Sounds like something that would make sense. Column should be hidden by default but the info should always be visible in the tooltip. What could this column be called? "Document source"?

PostPosted: Wed Jan 07, 2009 4:50 am
by Adblock Plus Fan
Wladimir Palant wrote:Column should be hidden by default but the info should always be visible in the tooltip.
That's a great idea.

Wladimir Palant wrote:"Document source"?
I'm fine with this.
Alternatively, "originating domain"?
If it has something with "domain" in it, it might be easier for people to connect this feature with the Domain restriction feature.



Looking back in hindsight, the decision to change the Blockable list from vertical sidebar to horizontal was smart and it has really paid off.

PostPosted: Wed Jan 07, 2009 3:22 pm
by Wladimir Palant
"Originating domain" will trigger questions like "Why does it say 'originating domain foo.com' for 'http://bar.com/script.js', isn't it bar.com?"

PostPosted: Wed Jan 07, 2009 4:56 pm
by Dr. Evil
I don't know if this information is available, but maybe the items could be listed hierarchically?
Code: Select all
    http://example.com/image.png               image
  - http://example.com/frame/frame.htm         frame
       http://example.com/frame/image.png      image
       http://example.com/frame/script.js      script
    http://example.com/script.js               script


This would also help finding the right things to block on pages with many items.

PostPosted: Wed Jan 07, 2009 5:01 pm
by Wladimir Palant
No, that information isn't really available but maybe it can be retrieved. What's more important, the frame URL displayed in the list might have redirected itself to another URL - so the document URL that is being considered for $domain and $third-party doesn't show up in the list at all.

PostPosted: Sun Feb 22, 2009 4:06 am
by Adblock Plus Fan
@Wladimir
Is there a chance we can have $domain revised so it considers domain of toppage for items inside frames?
It seems like it's causing confusion and people really expect different behaviour:
http://adblockplus.org/forum/viewtopic.php?t=3538
http://adblockplus.org/forum/viewtopic.php?t=3521

If we can have $domain revised then there's also no need for the requested feature in this thread.

PostPosted: Mon Feb 23, 2009 11:10 am
by Wladimir Palant
That's how domains always worked for element hiding, I'm not convinced it needs changing.

PostPosted: Thu May 07, 2009 4:02 pm
by Wladimir Palant
Done, there is a "document source" column now which is hidden by default: http://hg.mozdev.org/adblockplus/rev/7023575bdf23