Page 9 of 10

Re: Issues in the new ABP (version 3) for firefox

PostPosted: Mon Nov 27, 2017 12:04 am
by mapx
Could be another mozilla limitation, the devs I guess put it on the roadmap.
However, it's not big deal you can do it in 3 clicks (before only 2), click tools, click "add-ons", disable ABP

or press chtrl-shift-A and then disable ABP

see here the issue opened with mozilla about middle-click
https://bugzilla.mozilla.org/show_bug.cgi?id=1418663

Re: Issues in the new ABP (version 3) for firefox

PostPosted: Mon Nov 27, 2017 3:49 am
by Dypsis
I can't get the Block Element feature to work in Adblock Plus 3.0.1 for Firefox. When I click the element, the element window pops up empty.
Is there something that I am doing wrong?

Same problem with the chrome version that I am using with Vivaldi.

Re: Issues in the new ABP (version 3) for firefox

PostPosted: Mon Nov 27, 2017 10:08 am
by mapx
@Dypsis, use the dev builds for firefox / vivaldi, it was fixed there, I already wrote above

for firefox the beta:
https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefo ... sions/beta

Re: Issues in the new ABP (version 3) for firefox

PostPosted: Mon Nov 27, 2017 10:28 pm
by kzar
mapx wrote:Blockable items list.
As we know now, click F12, click ABP panel, refresh the page to get the elements in the list.

Then on the left you should be able to select:

- first box => all elements, blocked elements, whitelisted elements
- second box => the various types (any, websocket, webrtc, script, subdocument, media, stylesheet etc)

Now it's a mozilla issue which doesn't permit to select in the 2 boxes (using normal mouse clicking).

But for now you can use an workaround...


Another workaround for that (and some of the other Windows only) Firefox bugs:

1. Browse to about:config
2. Change extensions.webextensions.remote to false
3. Restart Firefox

Re: Issues in the new ABP (version 3) for firefox

PostPosted: Wed Nov 29, 2017 6:17 am
by john487
I actually switched to uBlock and it gives all the features that ABP has disabled. And it is much more powerful in terms of control.

Re: Adblockplus 3.0

PostPosted: Fri Dec 01, 2017 8:39 pm
by vastymedoisa
greiner wrote:
temp20171106 wrote:but I don't see Adblock tab in F12, on debian stable, FF ESR 52.4.0

only Inspector, Console, Debugger, Style edi.., Perform.., Memory, Network.

perhaps have to apt-get update && upgrade.


I found that Firefox 52 didn't fully support the new web extension system yet and this appears to be one of the features that were still missing because according to Mozilla's documentation they only added it in Firefox 54.

In case you're wondering, we couldn't simply leave Firefox 52 on the old version of the extension because we cannot distribute two versions of the same extension through Firefox' extension store.


Hi, FF52.5.0esr (52esr is compulsory here) and ADBlock plus 3.0.1,
I still see
https://s1.postimg.org/2g87cw8umn/untitled2.jpg
i.e. I dont see ADBlock Tab, I need it to be able watching the filter counter.
Thanks a lot for adding it.
Best,

Re: Issues in the new ABP (version 3) for firefox

PostPosted: Sun Dec 03, 2017 10:50 pm
by GOLINAPI
So if i understand, since quantum, the smart advanced firefox users get the same... casual chrome users, right ?

Why adblock is so simple ? no advanced options ?
why my personnals well classed lists of blocked elements are now in ONE ... list where i can't even unselect element one by one ? where is the search bar ? where is the import/export option ?

And i don't speak about element hiding helper, the integrated version is a joke.

It's all broken

Re: Issues in the new ABP (version 3) for firefox

PostPosted: Mon Dec 04, 2017 7:03 am
by tonycstech
New UI is confusing. It does not follow STANDARDS of UI programming. It is more of an phone app UI then anything else.

Right click no longer has item to block elements etc.
Some ads flash for a second and then are gone. Meaning ads are no longer blocked, they are paused after they get thru.


I think the developer is doing it intentionally because he finally got his price met.
Perhaps Google its self offered him few hundred thousands to allow ads to go thru somehow as well as removing blocking elements with right click.


Does anyone have an alternative to adblock ?

Re: Issues in the new ABP (version 3) for firefox

PostPosted: Fri Dec 08, 2017 2:00 am
by cjsmall
I'm still confused by this and other discussions.

Is there no plan to make Element Hiding Helper, or some equivalent functionality, available going forward? I agree with others that what currently exists is totally inadequate on many fronts. It's a shame to see something that was so great be reduced to such an inadequate -- and really unusable -- level.

Re: Adblockplus 3.0

PostPosted: Fri Dec 08, 2017 11:59 am
by wspee
vastymedoisa wrote:
Hi, FF52.5.0esr (52esr is compulsory here) and ADBlock plus 3.0.1,
I still see
https://s1.postimg.org/2g87cw8umn/untitled2.jpg
i.e. I dont see ADBlock Tab, I need it to be able watching the filter counter.
Thanks a lot for adding it.
Best,


Have you made sure that you didn't disable the devtools panel in the advanced tab? There is a checkbox "Show 'Adblock Plus' panel in developer tools".

Re: Issues in the new ABP (version 3) for firefox

PostPosted: Fri Dec 08, 2017 12:07 pm
by mapx

Re: Issues in the new ABP (version 3) for firefox

PostPosted: Fri Dec 08, 2017 1:27 pm
by vastymedoisa
I dont understand the reply.
Is FF esr not supported by adblock?
why I dont see the adb icon in dev tools?

it has been removed? or is it a bug that will be fixed?
(mine edition is NOT portable)
thanks.

Re: Issues in the new ABP (version 3) for firefox

PostPosted: Fri Dec 08, 2017 1:29 pm
by mapx
If you read the linked post, yeah, it's not supported in FF ESR (52)

However, the devs are thinking what to do => https://issues.adblockplus.org/ticket/6176

Re: Issues in the new ABP (version 3) for firefox

PostPosted: Fri Dec 08, 2017 1:31 pm
by vastymedoisa
I warmly hope that they do it.

RequestPolicy addon for FF kills Adblock

PostPosted: Sat Dec 09, 2017 12:54 am
by rlaggren
Sorry, I don't know a quick way to get the Adblock version. Perhaps you could add that text in the Options display or the dialog that appears when you click the ABP icon? IAC, I installed the Adblock beta on 12-8-17.

FF version is 52.5. Perhaps that has something to do w/the following behavior?

What occurs:

ABP appears superficially to work w/out RequestPolicy enabled. IOW, the BlockElement options appears at the bottom of the rt-clk context menu and the ABP icon in FF top bar drops the ABP dialog and clicking Options open and Options page.

Enable RequestPolicy (previously installed years ago and updated as possible) and restart FF and there is no BlockElement option at the bottom of the context menu and the ABP icon, although it appears on the top bar with other addon icons, does nothing at all.

Disable RequestPolicy and ABP works again. Enable RequestPolicy and ABP does not work. Fully repeatable.

Other addons which I enabled one by one w/out causing this problem: NoScript; MozillaArchiveFormat; BookmarkCurrentTabSet; HTTP-Everywhere; Internote. These addons are all working together and w/ABP w/no problem.

Hope this helps.


Rufus