Issues in the new ABP (version 3) for firefox

Various discussions related to Adblock Plus development

Re: Issues in ABP 3.0

Postby mapx » Thu Nov 09, 2017 9:12 pm

FF 53 is pretty old. If you want to keep it install again ABP 2.9.1 (downgrade ..) and set the addon update to OFF
User avatar
mapx
 
Posts: 21947
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2011 3:01 pm

Re: Issues in ABP 3.0

Postby OhhJustSTFU » Fri Nov 10, 2017 4:02 am

feels like a downgrade
block element no longer works as it used to now i have to right click and view image info and copy and paste that into block element add and then press x to close then refresh
before it was just block element add done
OhhJustSTFU
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Nov 10, 2017 3:57 am

Re: Issues in ABP 3.0

Postby SunStroke » Fri Nov 10, 2017 10:03 am

Good day, all.
Where to gone the sync future (firefox)? It was very useful to sync computers in org`s local network.
Other limitations i can accept temporary.
SunStroke
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Nov 10, 2017 9:57 am

Re: Issues in ABP 3.0

Postby mapx » Fri Nov 10, 2017 10:32 am

SunStroke wrote:Where to gone the sync future (firefox)?

it's a question for mozilla ...however, open options in FF and you'll get under "Firefox Account"
User avatar
mapx
 
Posts: 21947
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2011 3:01 pm

Re: Issues in ABP 3.0

Postby mapx » Fri Nov 10, 2017 10:34 am

OhhJustSTFU wrote:feels like a downgrade
block element no longer works as it used to now i have to right click and view image info and copy and paste that into block element add and then press x to close then refresh
before it was just block element add done


- If you downgrade you have to stick with FF 56 (firefox will avoid the old addons starting with FF 57 version)
- "block element" has a bug but it's under review: https://codereview.adblockplus.org/29602561/
User avatar
mapx
 
Posts: 21947
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2011 3:01 pm

Re: Issues in ABP 3.0

Postby SunStroke » Fri Nov 10, 2017 11:06 am

mapx wrote:...however, open options in FF and you'll get under "Firefox Account"

I mean that ABP 3 for firefox don`t want sync prefs (incl. custom rules) as it was in 2.9.1. I deleted whitelist item on one comp and it not synced with other comp even after day. My firefox account is set.
SunStroke
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Nov 10, 2017 9:57 am

Re: Issues in ABP 3.0

Postby mapx » Fri Nov 10, 2017 11:19 am

probably you should use a private list (on some server) , this way will be available on all your devices
User avatar
mapx
 
Posts: 21947
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2011 3:01 pm

Re: Issues in ABP 3.0

Postby SunStroke » Fri Nov 10, 2017 2:22 pm

mapx wrote:probably you should use a private list (on some server) , this way will be available on all your devices

Yes, that list would be updated on all computers automatically. BUT, to add custom list i must run across each comp in network and add it manually, because ABP 3 is not sync its prefs.
SunStroke
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Nov 10, 2017 9:57 am

Re: Issues in ABP 3.0

Postby mapx » Fri Nov 10, 2017 2:24 pm

I know, but it's a one-time operation.
Probably you should file an issue on the bug tracker:
https://issues.adblockplus.org
User avatar
mapx
 
Posts: 21947
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2011 3:01 pm

Re: Adblockplus 3.0

Postby Thorzdad » Sat Nov 11, 2017 7:35 pm

mapx wrote:2. click F12, click "Adblock Plus" tab, press F5 (refreshing the page) ==> You'll get the list of the web requests, triggered filters, hover the rows and you can click "block item" / "add an exception"

This does not work for Mac users. I have FF56 and ABP3 and there is no way to view the blocked/blockable items list. There's nothing for ABP under Tools > Web Developer.
Thorzdad
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu May 15, 2014 8:45 pm

Re: Issues in ABP 3.0

Postby mapx » Sat Nov 11, 2017 7:41 pm

Weird, FF 56 in windows is ok (I mean I can see that section / tab).
However, FF 56 is buggy, could you try FF 57 (in beta now) ?
User avatar
mapx
 
Posts: 21947
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2011 3:01 pm

Re: Issues in ABP 3.0

Postby meowmix56 » Mon Nov 13, 2017 12:36 am

I had the same problem and found this thread looking for a solution. The view blockable items feature was the one thing that made me keep apb around over ublock. I guess I will try to find an older version.
meowmix56
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Nov 13, 2017 12:25 am

Re: Issues in ABP 3.0

Postby mozreactor » Mon Nov 13, 2017 10:19 am

Like others, I'd just like to let you know that I do not like the direction that you've taken with version 3, most especially with the "select element to hide" item.

I've downgraded to 2.9.1 and blocked updates (thankfully it was simple and non-destructive) and I'm happy again.

I'd also like to say that I use the Waterfox browser which will be providing support for "legacy"-style add-ons for the foreseeable future.
mozreactor
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Nov 13, 2017 10:13 am

Re: Issues in ABP 3.0

Postby Crowley1661 » Tue Nov 14, 2017 10:39 am

How do I downgrade to 2.9.1? The link from the homepage here

https://adblockplus.org/

adds the new terrible version with the non-working Block Element. I downgraded to FF54 W10 and disabled automatic updates to everything because 56 broke stuff, now all of the sudden nothing works anymore.

And why is Adblock+ so laggy on Firefox these days anyway? Takes 10-20 seconds for any page to function normally without lagging like it's run by a Windows98 machine with the least amount of ram.
User avatar
Crowley1661
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Nov 14, 2017 10:31 am

Re: Issues in ABP 3.0

Postby mapx » Tue Nov 14, 2017 10:50 am

Read the thread.

install 2.9.1 from:
https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefo ... /versions/

Then set OFF the addon updates. And stay on < FF 56 (from FF 57 the old addons don't work anymore).
User avatar
mapx
 
Posts: 21947
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2011 3:01 pm

PreviousNext

Return to Adblock Plus development

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests