all i want is a hot key to enable/disable adb in firefox 61

Various discussions related to Adblock Plus development

all i want is a hot key to enable/disable adb in firefox 61

Postby nickhere » Fri Jun 29, 2018 9:08 pm

I search for hotkey and it say look at fire fox about:config nothing for ad blocker shows up
nickhere
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Sun Mar 02, 2014 5:24 pm

Re: all i want is a hot key to enable/disable adb in firefox 61

Postby leonette » Thu Jul 05, 2018 6:39 pm

Pressing the slash key opens the quick find bar. This interferes with some JavaScript-based apps I use, which intercept the slash as a command, and thus forces me to use Chrome for these apps, while I'm using Firefox for literally everything else.

Is there any way to disable this shortcut? None of the keyboard shortcut modification apps (like keyconfig and the like) include it, so extensions do not seem to be an option.

Also, please don't link to 5-year-old bugfixes which have already been implemented. I am not reporting a bug, I am trying to disable a feature. I understand that some people may like having the slash key activate Quick Find for ease of access purposes, but for me, it is cumbersome.
leonette
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Jul 03, 2018 5:49 pm

Re: all i want is a hot key to enable/disable adb in firefox 61

Postby greiner » Mon Jul 09, 2018 6:45 pm

nickhere wrote:I search for hotkey and it say look at fire fox about:config nothing for ad blocker shows up


Since Firefox switched to a different extension system, extensions can no longer access preferences that are set in about:config. That's why this method no longer works.

Regarding keyboard shorts, it has become a bit trickier to implement such a feature with the new system but we can try to look into it.

leonette wrote:Pressing the slash key opens the quick find bar. This interferes with some JavaScript-based apps I use, which intercept the slash as a command, and thus forces me to use Chrome for these apps, while I'm using Firefox for literally everything else.


This is not related to anything the extension does so there's nothing we can do. This functionality is provided by Firefox and there has already been a discussion about this on bug 942269.
User avatar
greiner
ABP Developer
 
Posts: 678
Joined: Mon Sep 03, 2012 5:29 pm
Location: Cologne, Germany


Return to Adblock Plus development

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests