[FF settings] ABP broken in Firefox 35

Everything about using Adblock Plus on Mozilla Firefox, Thunderbird and SeaMonkey

[FF settings] ABP broken in Firefox 35

Postby ranasrule » Tue Jan 13, 2015 6:32 am

ABP seems to be broken in Firefox 35.I tested on the below websites and it failed to block any of the test ads:

http://thepcspy.com/blockadblock/
http://ads-blocker.com/testing
http://simple-adblock.com/faq/testing-your-adblocker/

Switched back to Firefox 34 and it works fine again.
ranasrule
 

Re: ABP broken in Firefox 35

Postby ranasrule » Tue Jan 13, 2015 4:10 pm

ranasrule wrote:ABP seems to be broken in Firefox 35.I tested on the below websites and it failed to block any of the test ads:

http://thepcspy.com/blockadblock/
http://ads-blocker.com/testing
http://simple-adblock.com/faq/testing-your-adblocker/

Switched back to Firefox 34 and it works fine again.



anyone ?????
ranasrule
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2015 6:33 am

Re: ABP broken in Firefox 35

Postby mapx » Tue Jan 13, 2015 4:15 pm

User avatar
mapx
 
Posts: 21942
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2011 3:01 pm

Re: ABP broken in Firefox 35

Postby ranasrule » Tue Jan 13, 2015 5:38 pm


nope...doesnt work on 35...works fine on 34
ranasrule
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2015 6:33 am

Re: ABP broken in Firefox 35

Postby mapx » Tue Jan 13, 2015 5:42 pm

try to submit an issue report and then post here the report's link
User avatar
mapx
 
Posts: 21942
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2011 3:01 pm

Re: ABP broken in Firefox 35

Postby ranasrule » Tue Jan 13, 2015 8:50 pm

mapx wrote:try to submit an issue report and then post here the report's link

that link tells how to report bugs in filter lists.... this page says to report bugs in ABP in the forums like I did >>>https://adblockplus.org/en/bugs#reporting
ranasrule
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2015 6:33 am

Re: ABP broken in Firefox 35

Postby mapx » Tue Jan 13, 2015 9:06 pm

I asked you exactly to submit an issue report: so, pick up a page (from those you posted above) and do it ...
User avatar
mapx
 
Posts: 21942
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2011 3:01 pm

Re: ABP broken in Firefox 35

Postby Guest » Tue Jan 13, 2015 10:16 pm

Having the same issue. I just updated to 35 and noticed the ABP icon disappeared. I went into customize and it isn't found. Then went to add-ons which still lists it but all of the preferences check boxes under options are unselected and do not work (nothing happens when checking/unchecking them). Clicking on filter preferences in there also does nothing.

How does one go back to Firefox 34? Or will this be fixed immediately so best to just wait the hours or day until it is?
Guest
 

Re: ABP broken in Firefox 35

Postby mapx » Tue Jan 13, 2015 10:32 pm

I updated right now, ABP works correctly, EHH too ...
I'm using the last dev build.

You could reset firefox and reinstall ABP. Test again and then reinstall your other addons.
User avatar
mapx
 
Posts: 21942
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2011 3:01 pm

Re: ABP broken in Firefox 35

Postby Guest » Tue Jan 13, 2015 10:42 pm

That sounds like a ton of work getting everything back to the way it was since I would lose a number of things. Anything else I can try first? Going back to 34 or anything else really?
Guest
 

Re: ABP broken in Firefox 35

Postby mapx » Tue Jan 13, 2015 10:47 pm

if the firefox profile is corrupted you have no other choice
try to save your settings, synchronize addons ( https://support.mozilla.org/en-US/kb/sy ... py-firefox ), or use some addon ( xmarks sync for example) to save / synchronize your stuff
User avatar
mapx
 
Posts: 21942
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2011 3:01 pm

Re: ABP broken in Firefox 35

Postby Guest » Tue Jan 13, 2015 10:57 pm

Thanks for the help mapx.

The above poster mentioned going back to 34 worked. Does doing that mean it still has a corrupted profile or everything would work in 34 for me?

Any chance trying to reinstall Firefox over itself would fix it? Any chance reinstalling ABP over itself would fix it (would I lose my custom filters?)?

What caused ABP to stop working just by updating Firefox to the latest version when it never did before? Any way to prevent it from happening again?
Guest
 

Re: ABP broken in Firefox 35

Postby mapx » Tue Jan 13, 2015 11:03 pm

-you can save your custom filters (ABP option or save them as text file)
-so, now you are in the old 34 ?
-you could save your current profile as backup then update again to 35, reset completely FF and reinstall ABP. If does not work you can use the profile backuped to replace the new one.
(also you can use what I said above to save/sync your addons/bookmarks etc)
User avatar
mapx
 
Posts: 21942
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2011 3:01 pm

Re: ABP broken in Firefox 35

Postby Guest » Wed Jan 14, 2015 12:21 am

This problem occurs if dom.indexedDB.enabled is set to false in Firefox 35. The session store doesn't work anymore either. Don't delete your profile or reset Firefox, just set dom.indexedDB.enabled = true. Unfortunately this also allows any website to store databases on your computer (and track you with that). The only solution now seems to remove write access to the <profile>/storage folder.
Guest
 

Re: ABP broken in Firefox 35

Postby Guest » Wed Jan 14, 2015 1:16 am

mapx wrote:-you can save your custom filters (ABP option or save them as text file)
-so, now you are in the old 34 ?
-you could save your current profile as backup then update again to 35, reset completely FF and reinstall ABP. If does not work you can use the profile backuped to replace the new one.
(also you can use what I said above to save/sync your addons/bookmarks etc)


- I can't save my custom filters as of yet because I can not access ABP in Firefox 35 at all. Clicking on filter preferences in the Add ons options does not work.

- I am still using 35 as of now. I have yet to do anything since updating to 35, seeing ABP was no longer working and coming here.

- So I could go to 34 and everything would work again? Then backup my ABP custom filters. Update back to 35 which would be corrupted again?. Then have to Reset FF 35. Reinstall ABP, and everything else. Copy over my backed up ABP filters and numerous other things.

- The sync link sounds like it would just save my add ons correct? I only have ABP, NoScript, HTTPSEverywhere and Flash. I am hoping I can easily backup NoScript, as I have custom white/black lists for it that would be a nightmare to even try to do again manually if I even could, and then import it back again. Never done that before but I hope that is simple and effective. HTTPS Everywhere is no worries as it would just take a minute. If I can manage to access ABP again to make a backup of my custom filters and restore them again that would be a great help. Flash should be fairly straight forward.

But, I am most concerned by things that it sounds, at least from my cursory knowledge from reading your sync link, that syncing wouldn't save for me. Things like, https://support.mozilla.org/en-US/kb/re ... t-problems, about:permissions (custom allow/block cookies exceptions), modified preferences, added search engines, DOM storage, security settings, download actions, plugin settings, toolbar customizations, about:config (I copied all of the bold entries presuming those meant ones changed from default).

Is there any way to know what caused the issue so that it can be prevented in the future?

Lastly, can I just use system restore to go back before updating to 35 and then somehow install FF 35 this time in a way that wouldn't cause the ABP/profile corruption?
Guest
 

Next

Return to Adblock Plus for Firefox support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Majestic-12 [Bot] and 22 guests