easier activation/deactivation of adblock plus

Everything about using Adblock Plus on Mozilla Firefox, Thunderbird and SeaMonkey

easier activation/deactivation of adblock plus

Postby markus » Wed Apr 23, 2008 11:00 am

hi!

i'm new here, so please bear with me if i'm posting something that's been discussed already. (i did use the keyword search beforehand.)

since i'm using the "activate/deactivate" function far more often than the "blockable elements"-window that appears when i click the ABP-octagon in firefox, i'd like to suggest to make a minor change to the interface.
how about activating/deactivating ABP by simply clicking the octagon, and accessing the blockable elements-list through the dropdown menu?
markus
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Apr 23, 2008 10:56 am

Postby Hubird » Wed Apr 23, 2008 12:58 pm

Middle clicking on the ABP icon will activate / deactivate it.
User avatar
Hubird
 
Posts: 2850
Joined: Thu Oct 26, 2006 2:59 pm
Location: Australia

Postby markus » Wed Apr 23, 2008 1:09 pm

umm, but that requires a three-button mouse, which - where i'm from (austria/europe) - pretty much nobody has. in fact, i haven't seen anybody using three-button mouse in several years.
laptops usually don't have a third mouse-button either, do they?

if you feel that it's not necessary, i can live with it. just thought i'd make the suggestion, since i assume the frequency of use is so different.
markus
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Apr 23, 2008 10:56 am

Postby Ares2 » Wed Apr 23, 2008 4:09 pm

markus wrote:umm, but that requires a three-button mouse, which - where i'm from (austria/europe) - pretty much nobody has. in fact, i haven't seen anybody using three-button mouse in several years.

Cool, now I'm not the only Austrian here. 8) Though, I can't agree with you. :wink: I haven't seen many 2-button mouses in the last years here in Austria. Maybe you do have a third mouse button and you just don't know it? For most mouses I know you just have to click the wheel.
markus wrote:laptops usually don't have a third mouse-button either, do they?

From my experience, that's true.


To your question: Type "about:config" in firefox' adress bar, search for the entry
Code: Select all
extensions.adblockplus.defaulttoolbaraction

and change its value to "3".

More informations about the about:config options can be found here: http://adblockplus.org/de/preferences
Ares2
 
Posts: 1275
Joined: Fri Feb 15, 2008 1:47 pm

Postby markus » Wed Apr 23, 2008 4:41 pm

on my mouse(s), "clicking" the wheel just activates another mode of scrolling, but that's not important...

thanks very much for telling me the solution. it's exactly what i was looking for!
(and greetings from innsbruck ;-) )
markus
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Apr 23, 2008 10:56 am

Postby Hubird » Thu Apr 24, 2008 1:46 am

on my mouse(s), "clicking" the wheel just activates another mode of scrolling


That is most likely because you or who ever setup your computer installed the software that came with the mouse (eg: Microsoft intellipoint). The software usually screws with the buttons. I personally rarely install the software that comes with such devices, usually works better without it.
User avatar
Hubird
 
Posts: 2850
Joined: Thu Oct 26, 2006 2:59 pm
Location: Australia

Postby Stupid Head » Sat Apr 26, 2008 5:58 am

Some drivers include an option to emulate the third button by simultaneously clicking the left and right buttons.
What, me worry?
User avatar
Stupid Head
 
Posts: 214
Joined: Sat Aug 26, 2006 8:11 pm
Location: USA

Postby Wladimir Palant » Sat May 17, 2008 10:13 am

Yes, laptop mouse drivers usually have one or another option to emulate the third mouse button.
Wladimir Palant
ABP Developer
 
Posts: 8395
Joined: Fri Jun 09, 2006 6:59 pm
Location: Cologne, Germany

Postby zoidberg » Mon May 19, 2008 6:50 pm

I would also suggest making
"enable / disable adblock plus" the default
action when clicking on the toolbar button.

best regards,
zoidberg
zoidberg
 

Postby Wladimir Palant » Mon May 19, 2008 7:05 pm

I think many people would disagree with me making that the default action...
Wladimir Palant
ABP Developer
 
Posts: 8395
Joined: Fri Jun 09, 2006 6:59 pm
Location: Cologne, Germany

Postby Hubird » Tue May 20, 2008 3:18 am

A lot of people don't know about the about:config settings. Maybe it would be a good idea to make things like this appear in the ABP options menu.
User avatar
Hubird
 
Posts: 2850
Joined: Thu Oct 26, 2006 2:59 pm
Location: Australia

Postby Wladimir Palant » Tue May 20, 2008 7:31 am

Hubird: It is already there (inside Options menu in preferences and below it in the toolbar icon's menu). And I hope the people who care about this read the FAQ sometimes (http://adblockplus.org/en/faq_basics#disable).
Wladimir Palant
ABP Developer
 
Posts: 8395
Joined: Fri Jun 09, 2006 6:59 pm
Location: Cologne, Germany

Postby Hubird » Tue May 20, 2008 8:08 am

Wladimir Palant wrote:Hubird: It is already there (inside Options menu in preferences and below it in the toolbar icon's menu). And I hope the people who care about this read the FAQ sometimes (http://adblockplus.org/en/faq_basics#disable).


Sorry I meant exposing some of the settings available in the about:config to the user under the Options Menu.

For example being able to change the default keyboard shortcuts and the default options for left,right or middle clicking.
User avatar
Hubird
 
Posts: 2850
Joined: Thu Oct 26, 2006 2:59 pm
Location: Australia

Postby Wladimir Palant » Tue May 20, 2008 8:21 am

Now that's something only useful for experienced users, and even then only rarely - which is exactly why these settings aren't exposed.
Wladimir Palant
ABP Developer
 
Posts: 8395
Joined: Fri Jun 09, 2006 6:59 pm
Location: Cologne, Germany


Return to Adblock Plus for Firefox support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Andreaswzu and 28 guests