.google-analytics.com/

Posting here is no longer possible, please use the forum of a filter list project, such as EasyList

Postby em4r1z » Mon Jun 29, 2009 5:55 pm

Does this imply that Gmail ads will be displayed? Because that's happening to me, at least in Gmail in Spanish and in the personal domains hosted in Google Apps (whose interface is also in Spanish).
em4r1z
 

Postby Wladimir Palant » Mon Jun 29, 2009 8:38 pm

No, Google Analytics has very little to do with Google Ads. So you better create a new topic for this question. Don't forget to mention the website where you see this behavior and the filter subscription you are using.
Wladimir Palant
ABP Developer
 
Posts: 8398
Joined: Fri Jun 09, 2006 6:59 pm
Location: Cologne, Germany

Postby Ares2 » Tue Jun 30, 2009 6:54 pm

OK, it seems that the greasemonkey script only works for urchinTracker, but not for the new ga script. Probably because .pageTracker is not the right thing?

Code: Select all
<script type="text/javascript">
try {
var pageTracker = _gat._getTracker("UA-xxxxxxx-x");
pageTracker._trackPageview();
} catch(err) {}</script>
Ares2
 
Posts: 1275
Joined: Fri Feb 15, 2008 1:47 pm

Postby Wladimir Palant » Tue Jun 30, 2009 11:06 pm

Code: Select all
var _gat = {tracker: {_trackPageview: function(){}}, _getTracker: function() {return this.tracker;}}

But I would definitely use setTimeout() trick here, just to be on the safe side.
Wladimir Palant
ABP Developer
 
Posts: 8398
Joined: Fri Jun 09, 2006 6:59 pm
Location: Cologne, Germany

Postby Ares2 » Fri Jul 03, 2009 9:15 pm

TYVM, works great on all sites I tested. :)

So If anyone else is interested in blocking Google Analytics completely without causing some sites to not work properly, simply add the filter
Code: Select all
||google-analytics.com^$third-party

and a Greasemonkey UserScript like this
Code: Select all
// ==UserScript==
// @name           Google Analytics fix
// @namespace      https://adblockplus.org/forum/viewtopic.php?t=4160
// @include        *
// ==/UserScript==

window.setTimeout("window.urchinTracker = function(){};", 0);
window.setTimeout("var _gat = {tracker: {_trackPageview: function(){}}, _getTracker: function() {return this.tracker;}}", 0);
Last edited by Ares2 on Tue Dec 29, 2009 3:44 am, edited 6 times in total.
Ares2
 
Posts: 1275
Joined: Fri Feb 15, 2008 1:47 pm

Postby tmr250z » Fri Jul 03, 2009 11:20 pm

Ares2 wrote:TYVM, works great on all sites I tested. :)


Really? Did you try it on typeracer.com?
I just did, and I'm still getting that browser freezing error I described here. Does that still happen for you too or is it just me?
tmr250z
 

Postby Ares2 » Sat Jul 04, 2009 8:32 pm

tmr250z wrote:Really? Did you try it on typeracer.com?
I just did, and I'm still getting that browser freezing error I described here. Does that still happen for you too or is it just me?

Yep, still freezes. But this site doesn't use the standard GA code (there is an additional script with .pageTracker), so it's just a problem with this specific site.
Ares2
 
Posts: 1275
Joined: Fri Feb 15, 2008 1:47 pm

Postby tmr250z » Mon Jul 06, 2009 12:26 am

Ares2 wrote:Yep, still freezes. But this site doesn't use the standard GA code (there is an additional script with .pageTracker), so it's just a problem with this specific site.


Yeah, so I'm just going to add an exception for typeracer.com in the filter and the userscript.


Code: Select all
.google-analytics.com/$domain=~typeracer.com


Code: Select all
// ==UserScript==
// @name           Google Analytics fix
// @namespace      http://adblockplus.org/forum/viewtopic.php?t=4160
// @include        *
// @exclude        http://typeracer.com/*
// @exclude        http://*.typeracer.com/*
// ==/UserScript==

window.setTimeout("window.urchinTracker = function(){};", 0);
window.setTimeout("var _gat = {tracker: {_trackPageview: function(){}}, _getTracker: function() {return this.tracker;}}", 0);


That will work right?
tmr250z
 

Postby Ares2 » Mon Jul 06, 2009 12:37 am

Yep. :)
Ares2
 
Posts: 1275
Joined: Fri Feb 15, 2008 1:47 pm

Postby tmr250z » Tue Jul 07, 2009 3:26 am

Ares2 wrote:Yep. :)


Thanks :D
tmr250z
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Jul 06, 2009 12:30 am

Re: .google-analytics.com/

Postby Guest » Mon Jul 29, 2013 5:55 pm

se224141 wrote:I notice .google-analytics.com/ doesn't figure in Easylist.

http://www.google-analytics.com/urchin.js is not blocked at http://www.yogameditation.com/.

http://www.google-analytics.com/ga.js is not blocked at http://www.economist.com/.

Any specific reason.
Guest
 

Re: .google-analytics.com/

Postby Anomymous » Mon Jul 29, 2013 9:25 pm

"@grant none" runs the whole script in the window context without using unsafeWindow or GM APIs.
Code: Select all
// ==UserScript==
// @name           Google Analytics fix
// @namespace      http://aaa.aaa.aa/
// @include        *
// @grant        none
// ==/UserScript==
urchinTracker = function(){};
pageTracker = function(){};
Anomymous
 

Re: .google-analytics.com/

Postby Boris » Mon Jul 29, 2013 11:07 pm

Guest wrote:
se224141 wrote:I notice .google-analytics.com/ doesn't figure in Easylist.

http://www.google-analytics.com/urchin.js is not blocked at http://www.yogameditation.com/.

http://www.google-analytics.com/ga.js is not blocked at http://www.economist.com/.

Any specific reason.


It needs a lot of exceptions as few other tracking scripts and especially on shopping and gaming websites. You have to download Fanboy's "Advanced tracking List" filter. It blocks GA and other tracking scripts not included in Easylist. Downside, it gets updated maybe once a month.
Boris
 

Re: .google-analytics.com/

Postby fanboy » Tue Jul 30, 2013 10:42 am

Boris wrote: Downside, it gets updated maybe once a month.


Well, updated when theres a bug.. no new major additions.
User avatar
fanboy
 
Posts: 3446
Joined: Sun Jun 17, 2007 4:45 am

Previous

Return to Filters for Adblock Plus

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests