Change web content, possible ?

Everything about using Adblock Plus on Google Chrome

Change web content, possible ?

Postby Noggie » Tue Mar 29, 2011 1:03 pm

Site: http://www.tradera.com

This site had an ad at the top, adblock removed it (with my help) but the space is still there due to this little piece of code:
Code: Select all
<div class="headerWrapperThin" style="margin-top:136px">


Screenshot:
Image

So is it possible for adblock to change that code to:
Code: Select all
<div class="headerWrapperThin">


Filters i added to remove the ads:
Code: Select all
tradera.com##div.topBannerContainerSlim
tradera.com##DIV#bannerTop
tradera.com##DIV#bannerSkyscraper
tradera.com##iframe[class^="aa-if"]
tradera.com##embed[id^="Fusionflash_"][name^="Fusionflash_"]
tradera.com##a[onclick^="window.Fusion.countAdvertEvent("][onclick$=", 'click'); return true;"]
Noggie
 
Posts: 82
Joined: Tue Mar 29, 2011 12:46 pm

Re: Change web content, possible ?

Postby fanboy » Tue Mar 29, 2011 1:33 pm

Does the swedish regional do fine? (the blank space still shows on the main page, but other pages hosted on that domain seem fine..)
User avatar
fanboy
 
Posts: 3446
Joined: Sun Jun 17, 2007 4:45 am

Re: Change web content, possible ?

Postby Noggie » Tue Mar 29, 2011 2:35 pm

Noggie
 
Posts: 82
Joined: Tue Mar 29, 2011 12:46 pm

Re: Change web content, possible ?

Postby fanboy » Tue Mar 29, 2011 3:08 pm

You can't collapse something thats not there
User avatar
fanboy
 
Posts: 3446
Joined: Sun Jun 17, 2007 4:45 am

Re: Change web content, possible ?

Postby Noggie » Tue Mar 29, 2011 4:33 pm

fanboy wrote:You can't collapse something thats not there

I know that, Read the first post again, please.

I'm asking if adblock can change this
Code: Select all
<div class="headerWrapperThin" style="margin-top:136px">

to this:
Code: Select all
<div class="headerWrapperThin">


So is it possible ?
If not then i will request this feature.
Noggie
 
Posts: 82
Joined: Tue Mar 29, 2011 12:46 pm

Re: Change web content, possible ?

Postby ttjoseph » Tue Mar 29, 2011 8:30 pm

If I understand correctly, it seems like you're asking whether ABP can arbitrarily rewrite CSS rules? If so, it can't.
ttjoseph
 
Posts: 79
Joined: Sat Dec 04, 2010 5:12 am

Re: Change web content, possible ?

Postby Ares2 » Tue Mar 29, 2011 9:06 pm

Noggie wrote:If not then i will request this feature.

There is already such a suggestion: viewtopic.php?t=5977

And there is always the possibility to use Stylish to do it yourself: https://addons.mozilla.org/addon/stylish/
Ares2
 
Posts: 1275
Joined: Fri Feb 15, 2008 1:47 pm

Re: Change web content, possible ?

Postby Noggie » Wed Mar 30, 2011 11:42 am

ttjoseph wrote:If I understand correctly, it seems like you're asking whether ABP can arbitrarily rewrite CSS rules? If so, it can't.

Well i just want the support to be able to modify the web page to be able to remove ad space holes, like the one above

Like:
Code: Select all
tradera.com##DIV[class="headerWrapperThin"][remove_attr="style", if_value="margin-top:136px"]

something like that

When i think about it, why haven't this feature been added already ?
What was the developer(s) reason for not supporting it ?
Noggie
 
Posts: 82
Joined: Tue Mar 29, 2011 12:46 pm

Re: Change web content, possible ?

Postby Noggie » Thu Mar 31, 2011 1:25 pm

Can the developer(s) perhaps answer these questions, please ?
Noggie
 
Posts: 82
Joined: Tue Mar 29, 2011 12:46 pm

Re: Change web content, possible ?

Postby ttjoseph » Thu Mar 31, 2011 7:37 pm

Did you check the link to the other topic above that Ares2 posted? There is some discussion of the considerations.

I can't speak for Wladimir. To me personally, it seems like a considerable amount of work and complexity - not just in coding it, but in maintaining it - for a relatively small gain in overall ads blocked.

On the other hand, if ads in general become complex enough to really require this sort of manipulation to remove them properly, this type of thing might become necessary.
ttjoseph
 
Posts: 79
Joined: Sat Dec 04, 2010 5:12 am


Return to Adblock Plus for Chrome support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests