Change web content, possible ?

Everything about using Adblock Plus on Google Chrome
Post Reply
Noggie
Posts: 82
Joined: Tue Mar 29, 2011 12:46 pm

Change web content, possible ?

Post by Noggie »

Site: http://www.tradera.com

This site had an ad at the top, adblock removed it (with my help) but the space is still there due to this little piece of code:

Code: Select all

<div class="headerWrapperThin" style="margin-top:136px">
Screenshot:
Image

So is it possible for adblock to change that code to:

Code: Select all

<div class="headerWrapperThin">
Filters i added to remove the ads:

Code: Select all

tradera.com##div.topBannerContainerSlim
tradera.com##DIV#bannerTop
tradera.com##DIV#bannerSkyscraper
tradera.com##iframe[class^="aa-if"]
tradera.com##embed[id^="Fusionflash_"][name^="Fusionflash_"]
tradera.com##a[onclick^="window.Fusion.countAdvertEvent("][onclick$=", 'click'); return true;"]
User avatar
fanboy
Posts: 3446
Joined: Sun Jun 17, 2007 4:45 am
Contact:

Re: Change web content, possible ?

Post by fanboy »

Does the swedish regional do fine? (the blank space still shows on the main page, but other pages hosted on that domain seem fine..)
Noggie
Posts: 82
Joined: Tue Mar 29, 2011 12:46 pm

Re: Change web content, possible ?

Post by Noggie »

fanboy wrote:Does the swedish regional do fine?
Not sure what you mean.

It affects these pages too (random examples):
http://www.tradera.com/category/Categor ... gPage.aspx

http://www.tradera.com/Hemelektronik-17
http://www.tradera.com/Bocker-Tidningar-11
http://www.tradera.com/Accessoarer-1612
User avatar
fanboy
Posts: 3446
Joined: Sun Jun 17, 2007 4:45 am
Contact:

Re: Change web content, possible ?

Post by fanboy »

You can't collapse something thats not there
Noggie
Posts: 82
Joined: Tue Mar 29, 2011 12:46 pm

Re: Change web content, possible ?

Post by Noggie »

fanboy wrote:You can't collapse something thats not there
I know that, Read the first post again, please.

I'm asking if adblock can change this

Code: Select all

<div class="headerWrapperThin" style="margin-top:136px">
to this:

Code: Select all

<div class="headerWrapperThin">
So is it possible ?
If not then i will request this feature.
ttjoseph
Posts: 79
Joined: Sat Dec 04, 2010 4:12 am

Re: Change web content, possible ?

Post by ttjoseph »

If I understand correctly, it seems like you're asking whether ABP can arbitrarily rewrite CSS rules? If so, it can't.
Ares2
Posts: 1275
Joined: Fri Feb 15, 2008 12:47 pm

Re: Change web content, possible ?

Post by Ares2 »

Noggie wrote:If not then i will request this feature.
There is already such a suggestion: forum/viewtopic.php?t=5977

And there is always the possibility to use Stylish to do it yourself: https://addons.mozilla.org/addon/stylish/
Noggie
Posts: 82
Joined: Tue Mar 29, 2011 12:46 pm

Re: Change web content, possible ?

Post by Noggie »

ttjoseph wrote:If I understand correctly, it seems like you're asking whether ABP can arbitrarily rewrite CSS rules? If so, it can't.
Well i just want the support to be able to modify the web page to be able to remove ad space holes, like the one above

Like:

Code: Select all

tradera.com##DIV[class="headerWrapperThin"][remove_attr="style", if_value="margin-top:136px"]
something like that

When i think about it, why haven't this feature been added already ?
What was the developer(s) reason for not supporting it ?
Noggie
Posts: 82
Joined: Tue Mar 29, 2011 12:46 pm

Re: Change web content, possible ?

Post by Noggie »

Can the developer(s) perhaps answer these questions, please ?
ttjoseph
Posts: 79
Joined: Sat Dec 04, 2010 4:12 am

Re: Change web content, possible ?

Post by ttjoseph »

Did you check the link to the other topic above that Ares2 posted? There is some discussion of the considerations.

I can't speak for Wladimir. To me personally, it seems like a considerable amount of work and complexity - not just in coding it, but in maintaining it - for a relatively small gain in overall ads blocked.

On the other hand, if ads in general become complex enough to really require this sort of manipulation to remove them properly, this type of thing might become necessary.
Post Reply