Block entire domain - should be easy right?

Everything about using Adblock Plus on Mozilla Firefox, Thunderbird and SeaMonkey

Block entire domain - should be easy right?

Postby Freedom2232 » Wed Oct 23, 2013 4:18 am

Can anyone advise how to create a custom filter to block a website? I cannot find where the documentation is on adblocks website. For example, what does the || mean? What does that do?

How can I block instagram.com? I have tried everything I can think of, yet when I test it, instagram opens every single time. I would really appreciate any help.
Freedom2232
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2013 4:11 am

Re: Block entire domain - should be easy right?

Postby mapx » Wed Oct 23, 2013 9:00 am

https://adblockplus.org/en/filter-cheatsheet
https://adblockplus.org/en/filters

if you are on another site (not instagram) you can block instagram content using
Code: Select all
||instagram.com


if you click on a instagram link you have to use some other addon (block site for example) to completely block the access to such a site
User avatar
mapx
 
Posts: 21947
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2011 3:01 pm

Re: Block entire domain - should be easy right?

Postby N/A » Wed Oct 23, 2013 12:39 pm

mapx wrote:if you click on a instagram link you have to use some other addon (block site for example) to completely block the access to such a site

I'm sure there are some users who only see ABP as an ad blocker. Yet it is really a multi-purpose tool. It is a simple ad blocker (EasyList), a privacy threat blocker (EasyPrivacy) and a security threat blocker (MalwareDomains). Being able to block all requests to a domain, including those caused by a user clicking on a link, is absolutely necessary to the privacy and security threat cases, and it is even useful for the ad blocking case for those rare (?) cases where links redirect you through an ad page. ABP's usefulness is seriously weakened by this limitation. Yet the hole is left open. Why?

I think it obviously best if subscriptions could make use of total domain blocking, but even if someone were against that for some reason, there would be the option of creating special filter syntax that only works in custom filters.

Isn't it kind of ridiculous for people to add another addon when ABP could easily support full domain blocking and that support would improve ABP dramatically?
N/A
 

Re: Block entire domain - should be easy right?

Postby mapx » Wed Oct 23, 2013 1:14 pm

I opened a topic in the "future development" subforum (and we''ll see -the devs will tell us - if such a feature could be implemented or no...)
viewtopic.php?f=4&t=18774
User avatar
mapx
 
Posts: 21947
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2011 3:01 pm

Re: Block entire domain - should be easy right?

Postby Freedom2232 » Wed Oct 23, 2013 5:04 pm

Somehow I knew Adblock would not be able to block a domain. A very obvious and useful feature that would be devastating to ahole companies like facebook, twitter, instagram and especially the worst of the all Google. What is even better, are the large number of posers here, who really have in interest in advertising or surveillance or who the f**k knows, that give people misleading information in a massive scale. How much fu**ing time have people wasted here, not reall knowing that that assh*** company Google had paid Adblock to give them a free pass? How many users understand that when they use this product, it does literally fu**ing nothing to protect their privacy?

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
edited by mapx
if you continue this type of posting you will be banned
if you have something to say about acceptable non intrusive advertising go here:
viewforum.php?f=17

use an appropriate language
Freedom2232
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2013 4:11 am


Return to Adblock Plus for Firefox support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests