Problems with blogger 2 (and the solution)

Posting here is no longer possible, please use the forum of a filter list project, such as EasyList

Problems with blogger 2 (and the solution)

Postby puttabutta » Thu Dec 28, 2006 2:22 am

Ok, I was using adblock plus with EasyList USA. I recently signed up for the new blogger (recently out of beta) and found that editing page elements in the layout section didn't work (it wouldn't do anything when you pressed save in the popup window)

Then, I added it as an exception rule http://www2.blogger.com/ and everything worked out fine. To add it as an exception rule add this:

@@|http://www2.blogger.com/*

Maybe that will help a few people having problems with the new blogger...
puttabutta
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Dec 28, 2006 2:17 am

Postby rick752 » Thu Dec 28, 2006 5:57 am

Do you know what string was blocking it that caused the problem?
User avatar
rick752
 
Posts: 2709
Joined: Fri Jun 09, 2006 7:59 pm
Location: New York USA

Postby puttabutta » Thu Dec 28, 2006 6:27 pm

No, it's strange. I don't know much about adblock plus, but I know it's the problem. Here's what I did to prove it:

I loaded the Blogger :: Edit Layout page on the editing blogger page. (that's http://www2.blogger.com/rearrange?blogID= [and my blog id here] )

I click on "edit" for one of the widgets, and it opens a popup window with url http://www2.blogger.com/rearrange?blogI ... editWidget [...and so on]

I then edit the widget, and everything works, EXCEPT, when I click "Save" absolutely nothing happens, and, if the widget is a photo widget, the photo doesn't appear to upload.

Now, when I was there, with adblock enabled, I click the stop sign button and don't see anything listed in red, so it would seem that it's not adblock's fault, because it's not blocking anything.

But when i disable adblock and go to the page again, it works like a charm.

So, no, I have no idea what the conflict is there, but for now I guess the whitelist works... You should look into it i guess, because you know more about adblock plus for sure.
puttabutta
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Dec 28, 2006 2:17 am

Postby rick752 » Fri Dec 29, 2006 12:08 am

Hmmm ... that's interesting.

I just created an account there with all of my filters enabled and was able to make this:
http://rick752.blogspot.com/
with no problems.

Are you using someone else's filters too?
User avatar
rick752
 
Posts: 2709
Joined: Fri Jun 09, 2006 7:59 pm
Location: New York USA

Postby puttabutta » Fri Dec 29, 2006 12:32 am

*/adbanner/*
*/advertisements/*
http://*.adserver.example.com/*
http://imagecache2.allposters.com/image ... 468x60.gif
http://www.winehq.org/bin/ad
http://delb.myspace.com/html.ng/site=my ... hoolpage=0
http://www.newscientist.com/data/images ... arquiz.jpg
http://promotions.newegg.com/*

[sorry about the auto linking on the BB, i can't change it]

These are all my custom filters, I'm not using anything else.

I have no idea what's wrong with it..... maybe I should try uninstalling and reinstalling adblock plus

Also, I'm using a Mac with firefox 2.0, maybe it's something to do with that?
puttabutta
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Dec 28, 2006 2:17 am

Postby puttabutta » Fri Dec 29, 2006 12:46 am

just uninstalled and reinstalled adblock.... and I removed all the custom blockerthingies... still doesn't work. I have no idea, but it has to do with the javascript.

Also, did you fiddle with the "gadgets"? To get what I got you need to click "EDIT" on one of them and THEN try to save it in the popup window.

i don't know what the problem is.
puttabutta
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Dec 28, 2006 2:17 am

Postby rick752 » Fri Dec 29, 2006 1:01 am

Wow, you're right.

I can't "change" an image ... it just hangs up. Almost seems like something is wrong with the site ... even does it with ABP totally disabled.

The only thing that is being blocked there is google-analytics which doesn't seem to be a problem as I have even whitelisted it there (which now allows everything on those pages) ... but it STILL doesn't work.

Maybe it doesn't have anything to do with ABP ... it may be a bug with google's interface.

Anyone else have some insight to this??
User avatar
rick752
 
Posts: 2709
Joined: Fri Jun 09, 2006 7:59 pm
Location: New York USA

Postby puttabutta » Fri Dec 29, 2006 1:03 am

Ok, i tried to post an image on the BB, but it didn't work, so just go to my blog, I put a post here:

http://puttabutta.blogspot.com/2006/12/ ... is-is.html
puttabutta
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Dec 28, 2006 2:17 am

Postby puttabutta » Fri Dec 29, 2006 1:05 am

Strange that it doesn't work for you at all... are you reloading the page before trying it after disabling adblock?
puttabutta
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Dec 28, 2006 2:17 am

Postby puttabutta » Fri Dec 29, 2006 1:08 am

Blogger works perfectly fine for me after I whitelisted http://www2.blogger.com (remember, it's not www.blogger.com, because that's the OLD blogger) it's got the 2 in there, that's important.
puttabutta
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Dec 28, 2006 2:17 am

Postby rick752 » Fri Dec 29, 2006 1:13 am

I have no problem on THAT screen (screenshot on your blog)... everything uploads and adds just fine with that window with ABP enabled.

It's when I try to go back to CHANGE an image I already had posted in the "template" area. Outside of that, the interface works fine. My problem seems different than yours.
User avatar
rick752
 
Posts: 2709
Joined: Fri Jun 09, 2006 7:59 pm
Location: New York USA

Postby puttabutta » Fri Dec 29, 2006 1:20 am

Ok, the photo is a bit misleading. It's the same as yours. That window pops up when I click EDIT on a template, as well as adding one.

Adding one works, but EDITING one doesn't work. Sorry for the confusion.
puttabutta
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Dec 28, 2006 2:17 am

Postby rick752 » Fri Dec 29, 2006 1:36 am

Actually ... I was wrong.

If I select the widget in the actual post, everything works fine. I get the screen you showed and can changed the image with no problem ... and with no whitelisting.

When you get to that screen (the one on your blog), does ABP show that anything is even blocked there? All of my filters show nothing at all is blocked.

Are you using the latest EasyList filter? It should be dated "December 27"
User avatar
rick752
 
Posts: 2709
Joined: Fri Jun 09, 2006 7:59 pm
Location: New York USA

Postby puttabutta » Fri Dec 29, 2006 1:48 am

I just updated the list (I think it was the same, but it may have changed), but anyway it still didn't work.

Now, this is VERY specific (and strange).

The only way it DOESN'T work is like this:

Go to your blog editing page. To do that from your blog page, click the orange B on the top left corner, and choose your blog from the list on the next page.

Then click Layout (not on the blog itself at blogspot.com, but at www2.blogger.com). Make sure "Page Elements" is selected, and you see a tan box with your elements on it and "EDIT" in each box.

When you click that edit button (not the monkey wrench button) and edit the element and then try to save it, nothing happens.

Yes, I tried it from the blog directly, and that works, but it doesn't work if you go from your Template>Edit Layout page.

HMM... strange.
puttabutta
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Dec 28, 2006 2:17 am

Postby rick752 » Fri Dec 29, 2006 1:56 am

I know ... that was the interface that I was having the problem with, even with ABP disabled.

You said that the whitelisting works for you? Didn't for me ... hmmm. Sounds like a google bug.
User avatar
rick752
 
Posts: 2709
Joined: Fri Jun 09, 2006 7:59 pm
Location: New York USA

Next

Return to Filters for Adblock Plus

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 10 guests