BT.dk Blocks adblock+ users

Posting here is no longer possible, please use the forum of a filter list project, such as EasyList

BT.dk Blocks adblock+ users

Postby zeon » Mon Jun 08, 2009 2:51 pm

i found the following script on bt.dk after being blocked by adblock


<script type='text/javascript'>
var checkad = document.getElementsByTagName("script");
for(var i = 0; i < checkad.length; i++) {
var script = checkad[i];
if (script && ((script.getAttribute("src") != null && script.getAttribute("src").match("http://m-serving.com")) || script.style.display == "none")) {
parent.location.href = "/apps/pbcs.dll/misc?url=/misc/adblocker.pbs";
}
}
</script>
zeon
 

Postby Beefix » Mon Jun 08, 2009 3:06 pm

and how do I work arround that?
Beefix
 

Postby Wladimir Palant » Mon Jun 08, 2009 3:42 pm

Right-click the ABP icon in toolbar, go to Options and uncheck "Collapse blocked elements".
Wladimir Palant
ABP Developer
 
Posts: 8390
Joined: Fri Jun 09, 2006 6:59 pm
Location: Cologne, Germany

Postby zeonos » Mon Jun 08, 2009 4:13 pm

thanks, that worked. :) will this affect other sites, or does the collapse blocked elements do nothing?
zeonos
 

Postby Wladimir Palant » Mon Jun 08, 2009 4:18 pm

Yes, it will affect other sites but "collapse blocked elements" doesn't do much these days. Anyway, I'll make sure that this option won't be as easily detectable in Adblock Plus 1.1.
Wladimir Palant
ABP Developer
 
Posts: 8390
Joined: Fri Jun 09, 2006 6:59 pm
Location: Cologne, Germany

Postby Beefix » Mon Jun 08, 2009 4:21 pm

Now that was wasy ... thx M8
Beefix
 

Postby Apoxie » Mon Jun 08, 2009 8:00 pm

Wladimir Palant wrote:Yes, it will affect other sites but "collapse blocked elements" doesn't do much these days. Anyway, I'll make sure that this option won't be as easily detectable in Adblock Plus 1.1.


Yes please make Adblock more stealth. More and more sites are going to try to counter it, cause they say if you dont view adds you generate no money = we dont want your traffic.
Apoxie
 

Postby zeonos » Tue Jun 09, 2009 2:55 pm

got another one, again from a danish newspaper

Berlinske.dk

<script type="text/javascript">var berlingske_media = false;</script>
<script type='text/javascript'>
var checkad = document.getElementsByTagName("script");
for(var i = 0; i < checkad.length; i++) {
var script = checkad[i];
if (script && ((script.getAttribute("src") != null && script.getAttribute("src").match("http://m-serving.com")) || script.style.display == "none")) {
parent.location.href = "/apps/pbcs.dll/misc?url=/misc/adblocker.pbs";
}
}
</script>
<script type="text/javascript" src="/script/adimage.js"></script>
<script type="text/javascript">
if(!berlingske_media) { parent.location.href = "/apps/pbcs.dll/misc?url=/misc/adblocker.pbs"; }
</script>
zeonos
 

Postby Razuul » Tue Jun 09, 2009 3:05 pm

berlingske.dk which is owned by the same company as bt.dk, have now made a sligthly more advanced method of blocking, see below.

The trick of turning collapsing off does not work any more.

Code: Select all
<script type="text/javascript">var berlingske_media = false;</script>
<script type='text/javascript'>
var checkad = document.getElementsByTagName("script");
for(var i = 0; i < checkad.length; i++) {
   var script = checkad[i];
   if (script && ((script.getAttribute("src") != null && script.getAttribute("src").match("http://m-serving.com")) || script.style.display == "none")) {
   parent.location.href = "/apps/pbcs.dll/misc?url=/misc/adblocker.pbs"; 
   }
}

</script>
<script type="text/javascript" src="/script/adimage.js"></script>
<script type="text/javascript">
if(!berlingske_media) { parent.location.href = "/apps/pbcs.dll/misc?url=/misc/adblocker.pbs"; }
</script>


adimage.js contains
Code: Select all
var berlingske_media = true;


So it seems they try to get this js file caught in the filter.

Adding the exception @@adimage.js allows me to load the page again.
Razuul
 

Postby Razuul » Tue Jun 09, 2009 3:10 pm

thanks Razuul, worked perfectly.
Razuul
 

Postby Wladimir Palant » Tue Jun 09, 2009 3:11 pm

So this is not collateral damage, they are using AidOnline as an excuse to block Adblock Plus. How nice of them. Let's see how long it will take them to realize that they are only harming themselves, I am leaning back and watching.
Wladimir Palant
ABP Developer
 
Posts: 8390
Joined: Fri Jun 09, 2006 6:59 pm
Location: Cologne, Germany

Postby Zeonos » Tue Jun 09, 2009 3:15 pm

sorry, the username of the thanks razuul post should have been zeonos.
Zeonos
 

Postby Zeonos » Tue Jun 09, 2009 3:16 pm

well, it would be nice if they just blocked aidonline, which should be easy if i understand it correctly.

anyways, all the help organizations there was supporting aidonline left them, so now they are alone. still trying, but i would dare to say it will fail horrible..
Zeonos
 

Postby René » Tue Jun 09, 2009 3:33 pm

AidOnline's addon is based on AdBlock Plus.
It lets adblock remove the ads on the site. After that it inserts its own.

So I believe they have to use the "AdBlock Plus blocking" to block the AidOnline addon.
René
 

Postby Wladimir Palant » Tue Jun 09, 2009 3:44 pm

René wrote:So I believe they have to use the "AdBlock Plus blocking" to block the AidOnline addon.

No, they already have code there that recognizes specifically AidOnline - it is easy to detect, unlike Adblock Plus. The recent changes were explicitly targeted at Adblock Plus however (to be more precise, at EasyList).
Wladimir Palant
ABP Developer
 
Posts: 8390
Joined: Fri Jun 09, 2006 6:59 pm
Location: Cologne, Germany

Next

Return to Filters for Adblock Plus

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests