[Fixed] Make reenabling of all filters simpler

Posting here is no longer possible, please use the corresponding product forum.

[Fixed] Make reenabling of all filters simpler

Postby nitrox » Mon Nov 28, 2011 11:14 am

One thing as a list maintainer that i find tedious is enabling back all the disabled filters from couple of lists. Whenever we get a false positive requests we check for the culprit by disabling a filter at a time. After we have done that, enabling them back is a pain. It won't be a pain for doing one or two FP requests but can be a great pain when doing batches of FPs.
It would be nice if you could add a option to enable all disabled filters.

Another option I would like to be added is to be able to copy URLs from Diagnostics for Adblock Plus tool.
Other day there was a report for false positives on http://www.betfair.com/
While i was going through, i noticed the URLs that are from mp.apmebf.com disappears after the page load completes. I was able to see all the URLs in ABP Diagnostics tool but it won't let me copy the URLs. We do keep a record of sample URLs which we block or whitelist and also when me and Hubird we discussing about this false positive, we found not being able to copy URLs as a hurdle since we were trying to narrow down on URLs that needs to be whitelisted on a regional site.

Both these features are of little use or no use for users but can be of great use for list maintainers.
Fanboy list Co-Maintainer

Fanboy Adblock List's

Fanboy List Forum
User avatar
nitrox
 
Posts: 166
Joined: Wed Nov 18, 2009 12:57 pm
Location: ::1

Re: Couple of Feature Requests

Postby Marijo » Mon Nov 28, 2011 12:30 pm

nitrox wrote:One thing as a list maintainer that i find tedious is enabling back all the disabled filters from couple of lists. Whenever we get a false positive requests we check for the culprit by disabling a filter at a time. After we have done that, enabling them back is a pain. It won't be a pain for doing one or two FP requests but can be a great pain when doing batches of FPs.
It would be nice if you could add a option to enable all disabled filters.

+1. :D
I'd be happy if at least the "Enabled" checkbox (under "Preferences") would turn grey or something if one or more filters in a list are not enabled. Currently there's no indicator that parts of a list are actually disabled.
Marijo
 
Posts: 90
Joined: Wed Jun 29, 2011 4:37 pm

Re: Couple of Feature Requests

Postby Hubird » Mon Nov 28, 2011 12:40 pm

Marijo wrote:I'd be happy if at least the "Enabled" checkbox (under "Preferences") would turn grey or something if one or more filters in a list are not enabled.


See

viewtopic.php?f=4&t=4979
User avatar
Hubird
 
Posts: 2850
Joined: Thu Oct 26, 2006 2:59 pm
Location: Australia

Re: Couple of Feature Requests

Postby Marijo » Mon Nov 28, 2011 12:48 pm

Argh! I remember reading that thread quite a while ago... Sorry!
Marijo
 
Posts: 90
Joined: Wed Jun 29, 2011 4:37 pm

Re: Couple of Feature Requests

Postby Hubird » Mon Nov 28, 2011 1:21 pm

Hopefully with the UI revamp :D
User avatar
Hubird
 
Posts: 2850
Joined: Thu Oct 26, 2006 2:59 pm
Location: Australia

Re: Couple of Feature Requests

Postby Wladimir Palant » Tue Nov 29, 2011 12:21 pm

Diagnostics has been changed: https://hg.adblockplus.org/abpwatcher/rev/8a775d201009 (this change is already in the development builds).

I will change the title of this topic to reflect the first feature request - I prefer my bug reports with meaningful titles and with one report per topic.
Wladimir Palant
ABP Developer
 
Posts: 8398
Joined: Fri Jun 09, 2006 6:59 pm
Location: Cologne, Germany

Re: Couple of Feature Requests

Postby nitrox » Wed Nov 30, 2011 7:24 pm

Wladimir Palant wrote:Diagnostics has been changed: https://hg.adblockplus.org/abpwatcher/rev/8a775d201009 (this change is already in the development builds).

Installed Dev build and it works perfectly, Thank you

Wladimir Palant wrote:I will change the title of this topic to reflect the first feature request - I prefer my bug reports with meaningful titles and with one report per topic.

Noted, will do the future bug reports one per topic.
Fanboy list Co-Maintainer

Fanboy Adblock List's

Fanboy List Forum
User avatar
nitrox
 
Posts: 166
Joined: Wed Nov 18, 2009 12:57 pm
Location: ::1

Re: Make reenabling of all filters in a subscription simpler

Postby Wladimir Palant » Tue Dec 06, 2011 2:29 pm

Wladimir Palant
ABP Developer
 
Posts: 8398
Joined: Fri Jun 09, 2006 6:59 pm
Location: Cologne, Germany

Re: [Fixed] Make reenabling of all filters simpler

Postby Marijo » Tue Dec 06, 2011 3:14 pm

No more searching for the needle in the haystack!
Thanks a lot, Wladimir! :-)

By the way, how are subscription changes - during an update - merged when you have disabled filters?
Marijo
 
Posts: 90
Joined: Wed Jun 29, 2011 4:37 pm

Re: [Fixed] Make reenabling of all filters simpler

Postby Wladimir Palant » Tue Dec 06, 2011 4:09 pm

If a filter is disabled it stays disabled no matter where you put it. So a subscription update that merely moves filters around has no impact on disabled filters. However, if a filter is changed (e.g. options added/removed, an extra * at the end and such) - as far as Adblock Plus is concerned it is a different filter and it is enabled by default.
Wladimir Palant
ABP Developer
 
Posts: 8398
Joined: Fri Jun 09, 2006 6:59 pm
Location: Cologne, Germany


Return to Bug reports

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest