ABP button should be changed

Everything about using Adblock Plus on Mozilla Firefox, Thunderbird and SeaMonkey

ABP button should be changed

Postby dave » Thu Nov 09, 2006 5:32 pm

It looks too much like a "Stop" button. Buttons on a tool bar should be psychologically different. I actually clicked it once when trying to stop a page from loading.
dave
 

Postby dave » Thu Nov 09, 2006 5:35 pm

OK, I see how to change it manually... but I still think the default should look different than a stop sign.
dave
 

Postby sheepy » Fri Nov 10, 2006 5:17 am

From a usability standing point, the sign is not a good idea. Even if it is a good symbol for what the extension does, it confuses people. But from a likeability standing point, the old roach icon invoked much icon change request...
sheepy
 
Posts: 147
Joined: Sat Jun 17, 2006 8:44 pm

Postby chewey » Fri Nov 10, 2006 5:33 am

I understood for the first time what all this fuss is about when I installed
Firefox yesterday for some testing (normally, I use SeaMonkey). In FF, ABP's
icon is not located in the bookmark bar (as is the case in SM), but places
itself directly next to FF's stop button. This indeed is not the best thing to do.

Wladimir: Would it be a problem to place the ABP icon in FF's bookmark toolbar instead?
User avatar
chewey
 
Posts: 501
Joined: Wed Jun 14, 2006 10:34 pm
Location: somewhere in Europe

Postby JDlugosz » Fri Nov 10, 2006 10:09 pm

I see how this could be an issue. Since I just installed (I was a long-time user of Guidescope), I allowed the icon in both places, address bar and status bar. Since the latter seems to have the identical features, I deleted the top one, just to prevent making the mistake in the future.
JDlugosz
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Nov 10, 2006 10:03 pm

Postby Wladimir Palant » Sat Nov 11, 2006 1:29 am

@chewey: Putting the button into the bookmarks toolbar in only a hack, it is too difficult to place it in the toolbar in SeaMonkey (theme issues). The bookmarks toolbar is likely to be invisible with the result that the user can't find the button, it doesn't appear in the customization dialog in this case. And status bar is also a bad default setting since it makes the menu difficult to find (you have to think of right-clicking the symbol instead of simply clicking the arrow). But maybe placing the icon right next to the navigation buttons was a bad idea in the first place, what would you think of putting it at the end of the navigation toolbar, after the search field? We are talking about default settings here of course, everybody is free to move the button wherever he wants it to be...
Wladimir Palant
ABP Developer
 
Posts: 8395
Joined: Fri Jun 09, 2006 6:59 pm
Location: Cologne, Germany

Postby sheepy » Sun Nov 12, 2006 6:48 am

You know what, Wladimir, that is where I put the icon for every ABP I installed for my friends. =)
sheepy
 
Posts: 147
Joined: Sat Jun 17, 2006 8:44 pm

Postby AM088 » Fri Nov 17, 2006 12:15 am

IMHO the statusbar is the best place. I don't think that the button is as necessary to use while browsing to have it take up space on the Navigation bear. And besides, the menu is also in the Tools menu.
User avatar
AM088
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Nov 17, 2006 12:09 am

Postby MonztA » Fri Nov 17, 2006 12:22 am

And Ctrl+Shift+A. ;)
MonztA
ABP IT Officer
 
Posts: 3957
Joined: Mon Aug 14, 2006 12:18 am
Location: Germany

Postby nobody » Fri Nov 17, 2006 12:23 am

The icon is in the toolbar by default, because adblock plus is a tool and not a status.
nobody
 

Postby sheepy » Fri Nov 17, 2006 3:05 am

I use the toolbar button a lot, if only because it's easier to find there since my statusbar is full of stuffs.

Plus with stop-or-reload we'll save one button space, perfect for ABP. =)
sheepy
 
Posts: 147
Joined: Sat Jun 17, 2006 8:44 pm


Return to Adblock Plus for Firefox support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 25 guests