Adblock blocks my site

Everything about using Adblock Plus on Mozilla Firefox, Thunderbird and SeaMonkey

Adblock blocks my site

Postby Ubart » Tue Dec 19, 2006 12:55 am

Hello

Your product is blocking all the graphics of my site www.ad-linea.org.
I assume this is because the name contains "ad-" but I think it is a rather blunt way of filtering.
Could you modify your software in order to make the user experience normal for my visitors ?
Thanks in advance
-bu
Ubart
 

Postby helping ghost » Tue Dec 19, 2006 1:02 am

Adblock Plus does not block something on its own. It blocks everything what is defined in the filter rules. So modify your rules or contact the subscription author, if you are using one.

And the next time you should rather take another domain, not containing "ad" or similar, because some firewalls and proxies block these strings, too.
helping ghost
 

Postby Wladimir Palant » Tue Dec 19, 2006 1:36 am

EasyList and Filterset.G are fine, so it must be some other subscription.
Wladimir Palant
ABP Developer
 
Posts: 8398
Joined: Fri Jun 09, 2006 6:59 pm
Location: Cologne, Germany

Postby chewey » Tue Dec 19, 2006 1:39 am

And you should fix your internal links:
http://www.ad-linea.org./index.php is not a valid URL according to RfC 1630, although it seems to work.

However, this seems to be a browser bug :-)
User avatar
chewey
 
Posts: 501
Joined: Wed Jun 14, 2006 10:34 pm
Location: somewhere in Europe

Postby Wladimir Palant » Tue Dec 19, 2006 2:09 am

@chewey: The link here in the forum has the trailing dot, and the site only uses relative links. And as far as I remember the dot at the end of the host name is perfectly valid, even though it is usually omitted.
Wladimir Palant
ABP Developer
 
Posts: 8398
Joined: Fri Jun 09, 2006 6:59 pm
Location: Cologne, Germany

Postby chewey » Tue Dec 19, 2006 2:30 am

Wladimir Palant wrote:@chewey: The link here in the forum has the trailing dot, and the site only uses relative links.

Woops, OK, never mind *whistle*
I didn't realise that.

Wladimir Palant wrote:And as far as I remember the dot at the end of the host name is perfectly valid, even though it is usually omitted.

On second thought, you are right.
The BNF given is in RfC1630 is
Code: Select all
httpaddress    h t t p : / / hostport [  / path ] [ ? search ]

My conclusion came from the fact that "path" may contain ".", but is preceded by a mandatory "/".
However, I didn't check "hostport" thoroughly enough - it indeed seems to allow trailing "."s

I hate this recursive BNF stuff ;-)
User avatar
chewey
 
Posts: 501
Joined: Wed Jun 14, 2006 10:34 pm
Location: somewhere in Europe

Postby sheepy » Tue Dec 19, 2006 6:33 am

That dot is supposed to be a fullstop I think, since I often produce something like that.

According to RFC 1630, the dot is valid syntax, however I'm not certain it's supposed to be there:


Code: Select all
  hostport               host [ : port ]

  host                   hostname | hostnumber
  port                   digits

  hostname               ialpha [  .  hostname ]
  hostnumber             digits . digits . digits . digits


The syntax reads like trailing dot is invalid, however ialpha may end in a number of symbols, including dot, as long as it starts from a to z.

I think we need to look into another rfc if we want to know wether it is really a valid url (and not just correct-in-syntax).
sheepy
 
Posts: 147
Joined: Sat Jun 17, 2006 8:44 pm


Return to Adblock Plus for Firefox support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 20 guests